New project - TOS Enterprise 1341-foot version full interior 3D model

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by Toddard, Apr 17, 2022.

  1. Jim Botaitis

    Jim Botaitis Lieutenant Junior Grade Red Shirt

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Location:
    London Ontario Canada
    The blueprints I developed for the 1341-foot long ENTERPRISE are all done now. When Toddard started this project, I only had the Primary Hull done. You can see all the decks and all the exterior views on my site at: http://www.jbot.ca/space/1bhc.shtml

    Thanks again!
     
    Mytran, BK613, danellis and 5 others like this.
  2. gmd3d

    gmd3d Lieutenant Junior Grade Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2021
    If I ever rework my own Lightwave model I will scale it as you have, mine I scaled to 1311.5 feet,
     
  3. Jim Botaitis

    Jim Botaitis Lieutenant Junior Grade Red Shirt

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Location:
    London Ontario Canada
    ... My CONSTRUCTION NOTES on the first page explain how I ended up with 1341 feet. The constant is ceilings that are 10 feet high, but the variables are the thickness of the hull and the thickness of the decks (*). I chose to make the hull and the decks the same thickness everywhere on the ship.
    As I changed the numbers I would scale the outline of the ship and check to see how well certain features lined up (the Bridge and the Hangar Bay, for example).
    Your mileage may vary.

    (*) I am reminded of an old math adage: Constants aren't; variables won't.
     
    BK613, blssdwlf, Nightowl1701 and 4 others like this.
  4. gmd3d

    gmd3d Lieutenant Junior Grade Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2021
    I did make my decks 10ft and 1ft deck thickness apart from the Bridge I think where I eye-balled the scale there, it was not measured, it's been a long time since I made the basic model in 2016 I think it was when I first started it finishing in 2018. I just wish I had your work to hand back then. I still believe your scale is better, as building 3d models to scale you soon see the accepted canon scale in 3d is problematic, for me it was the hangar bay and shuttle storage. I turned my classic into a reimagined design.

    anyway, I love the attention you gave this, I have saved your work should I ever return to ST modelling. you might like this PDF showing where my mind was at the time

    https://gmd3ddesigns.files.wordpress.com/2018/05/reboot1.pdf
     
    publiusr, Toddard, Henoch and 3 others like this.
  5. Professor Moriarty

    Professor Moriarty Professional Procrastinator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Location:
    System L-374


    This is marvelous. And as I’ve said upthread, it just makes so much more sense to stretch the Enterprise out a bit… everything “fits” now. Besides, the SNW Enterprise is waaay bigger than 947 feet in length, so FWIW there’s that too.
     
    Toddard, gmd3d and blssdwlf like this.
  6. UssGlenn

    UssGlenn Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    The SNW Enterprise is 8% bigger than this 1341 version.
     
  7. Jim Botaitis

    Jim Botaitis Lieutenant Junior Grade Red Shirt

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Location:
    London Ontario Canada
    OH! I remember seeing that first comparison image on Facebook. This is your work? Outstanding! Pleased to meet you. Thanks for the entire document; I never saw any of the other images or any of the text that walks us through your process.
    Thank you!
     
    gmd3d likes this.
  8. fireproof78

    fireproof78 Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Location:
    USS TITAN-A
    I love that 2d to 3d look. Super impressive looking!
     
  9. Jim Botaitis

    Jim Botaitis Lieutenant Junior Grade Red Shirt

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Location:
    London Ontario Canada
    Oh? The ENTERPRISE in SNW is 1448 feet long? Is that stated somewhere? Has anyone developed blueprints yet?
     
    Vale likes this.
  10. Vale

    Vale Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2021
    Location:
    Ireland
    It's 442m long, which is pretty much exactly 1450 feet. The ship dimensions are given on the SNW Enterprise's bridge dedication plaque.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. yotsuya

    yotsuya Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    I don't know if we have seen the dedication plaque clearly on screen. What we have seen clearly on screen was in the opening of Discovery season 2.

    [​IMG]
    From the episode in 720p (you can read the dimensions of the warp nacelle).

    And behind the scenes where you can see the whole thing...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    All the dimensions and most of the rest was lifted directly from the FJ Tech Manual (the dates are the ones set during the Berman years by the Okudas). You can also see John Eaves original intended design before they altered it.

    This is one of those cases where they have established in canon the size of the ship, yet the FX do not match and and we see the dedication plaque does not match. So Which do you chose? Frankly, in Discovery and SNW I'd completely ignore this and go with the Dedication plaque numbers. Yet this is what we can clearly see on screen. The length of the warp Nacelle is 153.6 meters and the diameter is 17.3. And yet the image is wrong. Even the crew size is wrong according to the dialog. And the numbers don't even fit the image. Alas, the Discovery team failed on this major continuity point.
     
    publiusr likes this.
  12. Jim Botaitis

    Jim Botaitis Lieutenant Junior Grade Red Shirt

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Location:
    London Ontario Canada
    Yes, I can clearly see the width of the ship as 127.1 meters which is the same size as the ENTERPRISE from TOS.
     
  13. fireproof78

    fireproof78 Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Location:
    USS TITAN-A
    What is stated on screen.
     
  14. yotsuya

    yotsuya Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    When they have conflicting data on screen?

    Anyway, I can understand the urge to change the size of the ship to match the sets (I prefer to do the oppostite). I am looking forward to seeing how this project pans out. So much good work and so much more effort than I have time for.
     
    Spaceship Jo likes this.
  15. fireproof78

    fireproof78 Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Location:
    USS TITAN-A
    Data always conflicts so I usually work with an average between the two. Generally, I will go with what is spoken vs. what is written largely because one if definitely heard, while the other may not be seen. And finally, I don't rely on visual effects as much because those can change, due to a variety of factors.
     
  16. yotsuya

    yotsuya Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    I've been laughing since I first found out about that. Good data for me (since I refuse to enlarge the exterior) but it clearly doesn't fit Eaves design or the visual FX of the series.
     
    Spaceship Jo likes this.
  17. Professor Moriarty

    Professor Moriarty Professional Procrastinator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Location:
    System L-374
    Geez, I’d never seen that plaque before. The beam (width) of the SNW Enterprise is 70% of the length of the unscaled Constitution class!

    Jim, with your permission I’d like to use your blueprints to revise some of the visible interior details on my C4D Enterprise and Constellation… any objections?
     
    gmd3d likes this.
  18. Jim Botaitis

    Jim Botaitis Lieutenant Junior Grade Red Shirt

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Location:
    London Ontario Canada
    I have not seen your C4D ENTERPRISE or CONSTELLATION. What does "C4D" mean? I'd like to see what others have done to try to make what we see onscreen fit in the ship.
     
  19. blssdwlf

    blssdwlf Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Technically all we have is the nacelle dimension visible in the episode that is connected to a different version of the Disco Enterprise seen in the same episode and NONE of the other dimensions visible. It reminds me of TOS having the "Pre-Pike" Enterprise diagram in "The Enterprise Incident". So technically there is no in-universe discrepancy. The SNW Enterprise does not need to be tied to that smaller dimension since it's another version of the Enterprise. YMMV :)

    edit:
    C4D = Cinema 4D
     
    Professor Moriarty and Vale like this.
  20. Professor Moriarty

    Professor Moriarty Professional Procrastinator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Location:
    System L-374
    @blssdwlf is correct, Cinema 4D. A few
    months ago I ran into an insurmountable blockade with the OctaneRender plugin for LightWave. Since Newtek has essentially killed LightWave and OTOY is no longer updating the Octane LightWave plugin, I’ve reluctantly started transferring my LW assets over to C4D, including my shuttlecraft, planet killer, and Enterprise / Constellation models.
     
    blssdwlf and gmd3d like this.