Building my own star ship

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by Johnny, May 17, 2020.

  1. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    Incredible work. :mallory:
     
  2. Johnny

    Johnny Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK.
    Ta! Slow and steadily descending in to madness... :)

    Internal layout for the crew quarters. I should really find another colour than brown, even if it is just for a basic look! XD

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    JES, saddestmoon, StarCruiser and 3 others like this.
  3. Cyfa

    Cyfa Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Location:
    over the Cusp
    - How about a nice, calming teal or turquoise (with brushed gold highlights)? Or, for those crewman who can relax no matter their surroundings, a burnt orange (and bronze)?

    Your ship - and the work you're putting into making it "real" - is amazing! :bolian:
     
  4. Johnny

    Johnny Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK.
    Hmm, gold trim could work, although I'd work it in sparingly for effect, and the teal/turquoise could work for medical areas? I'll look at adding the burnt orange in to (not sure what deck it is yet)-forward. I like the idea of that a lot.

    For now I've been working on setting up the corridors sections in every orientation every four meters from the centre point of the saucer (straight through, t-junction, cross-corridor). Rather than parenting every item to a null object which makes 0,0 look like spaghetti, I use a single copy of the original object set in 1 collection, I then create a second block of collections for each of 4m differences. So when I use the collection as a linked object, the anchor point is always 0,0 but without all the mess of trying to parent multiple objects to one null. That probably makes no sense, but meh... here's some images!

    This is the centre corridor section that I've replaced with the linked objects. The outer ones still have some work to do on them.

    [​IMG]

    Also, I've done the two interlocking L-shape crew quarters and spread them around what I've now discovered will be deck 6!!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    There's 24 two-bed crew quarters just in this one side.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Johnny

    Johnny Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK.
    This corridor layout thing seems to be working, minus the occasional I'm-drunk-and-probably-shouldn't-be-doing-this-right-now errors, but I'm fixing them as I find them. :p

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    JES, scifieric, saddestmoon and 4 others like this.
  6. Sgt_G

    Sgt_G Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    I know that feeling all too well. Drafting a set of deck plans is an exercise in compromise. The set I made are only 2-D and black-&-white. As much as I'd love to convert them to 3-D, I'm not sure I have the skill-set to do so.

    Great work! Keep at it.
     
    scifieric likes this.
  7. ashefivekay

    ashefivekay Captain Captain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Location:
    Big Four Bridge
    :wtf:

    Ugh can't find the jaw drop emoji

    Great work!
     
    scifieric likes this.
  8. Johnny

    Johnny Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK.
    Omg, it would have been so much easier just knocking it up in illustrator! XD But seriously, you should get a copy of blender and just try making the corridors, it's not as hard as you thinkg ;)

    :barf: This one works for me... :hugegrin:



    I'm working on the transporter rooms, they're basic at the moment, but I've reserved the areas above and below the pads for some 'technical looking stuff' the would facilitate the operation of the tech.

    I'm also going to use the area on the outer most side for accessing the upper and lower areas, but it may be for Jefferies tubes. While I'd love to reserve every 4x4m area just for them, I'm thinking I'll create the access points at that scale but then allow the tubes and vertical corridors to move through the ship without having to be constrained to that. Then they can fit in very small areas.

    So I need to spend a week creating every variation of Jefferies tube block... :confused:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Sgt_G

    Sgt_G Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    Oh, I looked at Blender. Nah. If I were to do this, it'd be in Sketch-Up.

    I have TurboCAD, but I'm *still* using a program called Floor Plan Plus v2.0 designed for WIN-98 because it's super-simple to use and yet does everything I ask it to do.
     
  10. Johnny

    Johnny Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK.
    Love some legacy software! :) I installed Windows 3.11 for Workgroups in VMWare just for the memories, so I get how you can stick to what works for you.


    Right, I've never embedded a video before but here goes. Where my corridors are built around 4x4m I've built the jefferies tube junctions as 3x3m. 4x4 just seemed so big, and 3x3 seemed better, but the ceiling height is defo a problem, but not one I think I can solve. With a 3m deck height and looking at the connection between the deck ladders can't be more than 50cm and everyone seems to do some ducking or other when in a junction, that leave us with 2.5m (at best), which leave 50cm left. So I just decided to make them as high as looks reasonable. It makes no sense otherwise.

    Also I've built them as pizza slices roof, floor and side. So a side can be flat, a door, a ladder, a tube access etc. But I've kinda reached a problem which I think I've seen before. If I take up all the space that comes with a 4x4 block then I have a lot of wasted space. If it runs next to a door or wall then I have vertical space. I could look at building it in the the top corners of the corridors but then I don't think that will work completely. I could look at going up the corners of a turbolift square but it's a bit of a squeeze. If I don't want to waste a tonne of space then I have to build 'dog leg' sections that move the tubes to the size against a room or corridor. (I'm assuming this makes sense to you!) But even then I'll end up with vertical or horizontal waste.

    But either way I'm kinda wasting a lot of space unless I find some clever way of routing the tubes... Not entirely sure what to do... :/

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

     
  11. Johnny

    Johnny Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK.
    It's been ages since I posted, life got in the way. Go figure. :p

    While thinking about how to route the Jefferies tubes I've come to the conclusion that there's not much room for as many as I would assume. Same thing about the turbo lifts. So I'm going to look at a single or double loop in the same location on each deck depending on how large it is. It also keeps the junction rooms in the same place.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2020
    JES, Atolm, MisterD and 3 others like this.
  12. saddestmoon

    saddestmoon Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    This is... simply staggering!

    :D

    Amazing work!
     
    Atolm, Henoch and scifieric like this.
  13. blssdwlf

    blssdwlf Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    I finally got a chance to go through this entire thread and WOW. That's some amazing stuff with the exterior and interior. :techman::techman:
     
  14. Atolm

    Atolm Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Location:
    Killingly, CT
    Took the words right out of my mouth. Astounding undertaking.
     
    saddestmoon likes this.
  15. Johnny

    Johnny Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK.
    Thanks y'all. :)

    I've broken down each of the tube junctions in to 9 sections including; ceiling with lights, ceiling with hole, wall with ladder, door, etc, each in four orientations and dynamically linked to the objects I'm setting up here. So I build a junction object by object and it doesn't take too long.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    JES, saddestmoon and blssdwlf like this.
  16. Professor Moriarty

    Professor Moriarty Dice Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Location:
    System L-374
    Oh come on... the Jefferies Tubes too?!

    Get the net, boys...
     
    Johnny likes this.
  17. Donnewtype

    Donnewtype Lieutenant Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    The detail stagers my mind! What kind of system are you running to work on what would be a huge file?
     
  18. Johnny

    Johnny Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK.
    Erm... it's a 3ghz Core 2 Duo! :lol: Trying desperately to run Ubuntu 20 with 6gb of ram. And a AMD Tahiti(?) Radeon 7950 or something, and I'm sure it's got a little graphics ram in there somewhere... :shrug: Render times are terrible but building isn't too bad.

    I don't know if this is good or bad, but do these figures tell you anything?
    [​IMG]

    And I've done a bit more now.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  19. ashefivekay

    ashefivekay Captain Captain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Location:
    Big Four Bridge
    I love that all this fits in your ship. Fantastic.
     
    Johnny and saddestmoon like this.
  20. blssdwlf

    blssdwlf Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    That's pretty wild with that setup. I used to run with an AMD Radeon HD 5770 but a quadcore instead of a duo. If I'm reading your stats correctly, 511,649 triangles for all those rooms. I'm guessing the interiors are not high polygon count (and you're using materials to soften edges during rendering)? It looks pretty impressive.