General Computer Thread

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Amaris, May 26, 2016.

  1. Tetragillis

    Tetragillis All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Tetragrammaton Invictus
    You are a wise man.


    and power supplies...

    The fad shows no signs of dying.
     
  2. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    There's one machine in my collection that makes good use of a fan with LED's .. the thing has no powerled so with the LED fan I can see if it is running or not.
     
  3. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    An Aussie in Canukistan
    the fans that are shipping with the high end 2xxx series Ryzen processes from AMD have RGB leds in them. Not sure it helps the cooling performance (but they seem to be better than the intel stock coolers) but I guess some people think the look real purdy.
     
  4. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    AMD's stock coolers were always usable, I have a few of the older 125 watt stock coolers and they can actually keep a Phenom II or FX 8xxx cool enough, they do get very loud when you push the machine though, the Wraith coolers are even better they can pretty much deal with a Ryzen 8 core chip and not be too loud.

    I don't have too much experience with Intel stock coolers, the only one I used was socket 775 cooler, it came with a Pentium E2220, I hate the mainboard bending it caused but it kept the chip cool enough, I did replace it quite quick with a cooler with a backplate so the mainboard was not under tension so much anymore, the E2220 isn't a high end chip, it draws 65 watts at most.
     
  5. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    Before I forget, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS is avialable since Monday.
    Tempted to test it, I started with Xubuntu 6.06 LTS as my first (X)Ubuntu experience, it is still installed on the evil Netfinity...
     
  6. Tetragillis

    Tetragillis All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Tetragrammaton Invictus
    And A big windows update today.. Yay. Slightly messed up it did several reboots while installing the update. Had to reset all my icons and customizations. I use a program called "Font size changer" to customize everything from desktop icons to menus
     
  7. Mr. Rogers

    Mr. Rogers Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    Random_Spock
    Damn. Just ran into this. I think. Are you still on 1709? Forgot to back things up (been rather busy)... and now it's only postponing until reboot. I could literally kill Windows.

    Found something interesting about freezing issues. Wondering if it might be related to the freeze I had during last update.


    [–]Tackticat

    16 points 4 hours ago
    Does this update contain Chrome/Windows freeze fix?

    https://www.engadget.com/2018/05/03/microsoft-windows-10-chrome-cortana-freeze-fix/


    [–]hiperviper88

    9 points 4 hours ago*
    Didn't fix it for me.

    EDIT: Trying to run Chrome with hardware acceleration disabled; I'll update with my results.

    EDIT2: So far Chrome with hardware acceleration disabled seems fine.

    EDIT3: Well after thinking it was "fixed" by disabling hardware acceleration in Chrome, it froze again. Back to Firefox I go.



    [–]Tackticat

    3 points 3 hours ago*
    Thank you! I have a mixture of intel 620, nvidia 745, and intel nuc that are experiencing this freeze. going to look for chrome gpo to disable hardware accel.


    https://www.reddit.com/r/Windows10/comments/8hybl9/may_windows_10_cumulative_updates_are_out/


    Welp... guess Windows Updates and Chrome don't play well together right now.


    I HATE Windows 10. They even have something to try to sneak their stupid updates over metered connections. Just found it while looking for something to postpone this update.

    Enabling this policy will automatically download updates, even over metered connections <-- not EVER checking this bs.


    Found something else, this about 1803...

    MMOStars

    2 points·3 hours ago
    I had bsod happen with 1803, installed 17134.5 cab as per someone advices, no issues, but now we have 17134.48 release. I wonder if it's worth uninstalling and installing this, since for now I'd like to keep the live/stable branch?


    Definitely backing things up after this one. Big time.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2018
    Tetragillis likes this.
  8. Tetragillis

    Tetragillis All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Tetragrammaton Invictus
    details.jpg

    Here you go....... The only major issue I have had is that my custom sizing of icons and menus has been reset to default. For me that makes them too small to see properly.
     
  9. Mr. Rogers

    Mr. Rogers Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    Random_Spock
    Ah you're ahead of me. I have 1709 still. KB 4103727

    Glad that your system didn't blue screen like the other person's did. Apart from the several reboots you mentioned. Just hoping mine turns out similarly. Can't afford a bsod.
     
  10. Tetragillis

    Tetragillis All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Tetragrammaton Invictus
    Well here's hoping yours runs OK too....

    "licensed to windows user" I thought it put your name there?
     
    Mr. Rogers likes this.
  11. Mr. Rogers

    Mr. Rogers Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    Random_Spock
    Thanks. I just finished updating this morning. I was able to go around the stupid thing last night by holding the power button for 5 seconds and hard shutting it down. Had to, as it was storming pretty badly last night and didn't want to chance it. Bad timing once again, Microsoft. :lol: Today was ok though, no storms. Now I'm backing things up. Getting ready for that 1803 update. Better to be safe on that one.

    So did I.


    Just found a Windows trouble shooter that prevents updates from trying to reinstall...

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us...t-a-driver-update-from-reinstalling-in-window

    Big thanks to spsell via Reddit for linking to it originally.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2018
  12. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    2020 and 2023 will be sad years.. 7 and 8.1 will then kick the bucket..
    My game rig is 5 years old, I replace machines when they're 4-5 years old, I can still do that but I would have to replace it with another FX 8530 because I can't bring myself to buy a Ryzen and run that abomination M$ has created...
     
    Tetragillis likes this.
  13. Tetragillis

    Tetragillis All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Tetragrammaton Invictus
    I have one of these

    Acer Aspire A315-21-24XY 15.6" E2 Laptop

    Surprisingly it runs well given the price I paid, 4gig RAM upgraded today to 8gig.

    Default config is a 500gig mechanical hard drive but I just changed that over to an SSD and it now rocks along. Startup seems a tiny bit slow for an SSD but once Widows is up and running it's really zippy. I have steam on there and for a laugh I put dishonored thinking it wouldn't run.

    Surprisingly it runs although a bit jerky. The graphics did reduce to 800x600 and medium settings, but other than that the game ran which was far more then I had hoped for. But I'm not going to play games on this machine as it wasn't bought for that purpose. I'm just keeping Windows and my music library on there, with photos and have it is a "go to" machine for when I want to go portable. Everything else besides games is flawless including Netflix and streaming video.

    The camera is pretty shit though. VGA

    7/10

    EDIT: Memory is 12 gig. 4gig soldered to the board and 8 gig expansion
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2018
    Mr. Rogers likes this.
  14. Mr. Rogers

    Mr. Rogers Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    Random_Spock
    Mine is around 6 years old now.

    A Gateway NV55S36u. 4GB RAM. Old hard drive was 750GB. New one is 500. Sooo, it's been fun. :lol: Don't mind the drive itself as it runs pretty quiet, but wish it was a larger one.

    It's been through it's share, updates generally go through ok. Only had a freeze on the update before the most recent 1709 and one that took a bit longer some time back (around 20 odd updates were coming through at the time).

    Hoping that they hold back on 1803... since it really seems to be unstable. Hoping to go up to the library when I can to print up some stuff that people tried via Reddit's Windows 10 feed that seemed to have helped get the update installed ok. But I'm dreading it.
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2018
  15. John Clark

    John Clark Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    There
    My main laptop is probably a little old in the tooth too (and had a hiccup with 1709) but for what I use it for, it's fine. On the hardware side, I've updated to a blu from Dvd drive, but the rest is as I got it. It's an Aspire V3-551 (Guess about 5 years or so) and it came with
    A8-4500m Processor (upto 2.8ghz)
    HD7640g graphics
    750gb HD
    8Gb memory

    My DT is a bit more powerfull, but I tend to use the laptop more. Portions of it are unfortunately no longer supported though:(
     
  16. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    If possible kick Windows off and install Linux Mint.. In your case the Cinnamon desktop will work fine.
     
    Mr. Rogers likes this.
  17. Mr. Rogers

    Mr. Rogers Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    Random_Spock
    Just saw that Windows got another update... KB4134661

    Hoping that this dear thing isn't part of a lead up to 1803 (Do NOT want).

    Read a bit about it here.

    Source: computerworld.com
     
  18. Tetragillis

    Tetragillis All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Tetragrammaton Invictus
    ^ ^ ^ :( not looking forward to that
     
  19. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    M$ is losing it, quite plain and simple, they can't bring out a stable OS at release it's always a frigging beta with "new" features no one wants and they seem to be unable to actually patch bugs and solve incompatibilities, no wonder windows 7 is gaining and 10 is losing, it is like people desperately clinging to the last lifeboat while S.S. Spyware is going under.. :wtf:
     
    Mr. Rogers and Tetragillis like this.
  20. Mr. Rogers

    Mr. Rogers Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    Random_Spock
    Definitely. I wish I could have stayed with the former. But then I'd have to pay an arm and a leg to have upgraded to 10. Will be backing things up again tomorrow. Just keeping up with that in the hopes it'll help.