General Computer Thread

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Amaris, May 26, 2016.

  1. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon
    I know that but I don't feel that confident with the small spacing of solder pads. I've only done a few kits and other items where I felt confident I could do the build and odd occasional stuff related to my computers but only where I feel comfortable.

    To top this off I also have a visual impairment so while it's a challenge I have learnt to overcome I choose carefully things I think I can do with minimal risk / fuss.
     
  2. KamenRiderBlade

    KamenRiderBlade Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    What type of visual impairment?

    I wear glasses like many people. What's your visual impairment?
     
  3. Ar-Pharazon

    Ar-Pharazon Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Far North Chicago Suburbs
    Out of my 10 external HDD's (1TB, 2TB, 4TB), I have exactly one that Windows constantly forgets the drive letter for.

    Any ideas on why this is? The drive seems to work fine, and of course it has an exact back up. Any tests other than the occasional Windows Error Checking?
     
  4. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Shinning Waters
    Do you move it between computers?

    I have a WD 4TB external which is usually fine but Windows tends to forget the drive letter if I move it between my desktop and my Surface Pro.

    Think it's more a windows issue than a hardware issue with the software just not recognising the drive from previous times?

    Another thought - when you plug the USB drives in do they all come up as the same drive letter?

    Try setting the drive as assigning a different drive letter (something well up the alphabet) and see if still forgets.

    Oh and quick chat will mr google finds the following.

    http://woshub.com/windows-doesnt-assign-letters-to-external-and-usb-flash-drives/

    In a nutshell the running status of the virtual disk service can have an impact and you can also use diskpart to try and alleviate the problem.

    From a quick glance at the search results, lots on what do when a drive letter isn't assigned. Suggests to me this is simply a caes of welcome to the wonderful world of windows.
     
  5. Ar-Pharazon

    Ar-Pharazon Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Far North Chicago Suburbs
    Nope, same SATA 2 place dock connected to the same docked Dell laptop.

    The other 9 HDD's never have this problem. Obviously I had to re-letter all of them when I moved to the new laptop.

    I'll try a different letter in the morning. Thanks.
     
  6. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon
    I was born with congenital cataracts corrected by glasses as they had needled my natural lenses leaving me with no natural lenses, that was done when I was a wee child. In 2007 I got implants that replaced the need for thick glasses but still need a less thick pair for reading and a thin pair for distance, also nystagmus in both eyes
     
  7. KamenRiderBlade

    KamenRiderBlade Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Are you able to operate a automotive vehicle?
     
  8. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon
    Unfortunately not, not for lack of trying. I did try to get my license as a teen but it didn't work out too well.
     
  9. Ar-Pharazon

    Ar-Pharazon Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Far North Chicago Suburbs
    I've changed that drive from F: to Z: for now, I'll see what happens. I've been using the Disk Management route for years for re-lettering. As far as virtual disk, what are the odds it only misbehaves for this one HDD?
     
  10. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Shinning Waters
    If computers worked as they should i"d would have needed to change professions years ago
     
    Ar-Pharazon likes this.
  11. publiusr

    publiusr Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    publiusr
  12. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Shinning Waters
  13. Aragorn

    Aragorn Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    I never use Find My Mac but accidentally clicked on it. It's still listing an old laptop even though I've already erased and sold it. Obviously I can't locate it anymore but it's giving me the option to erase it. There's no way I could actually do that, right? I have no account on it anymore.
     
  14. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Shinning Waters
    remote wipe systems are usually independent of any user accounts and be buried deep in the OS (some of the Enterprise grade can be buried so deep you can wipe and reload the system but the functionality will still remain).

    So yes it would be quite possible for you to remotely wipe the system.
     
  15. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon
    I wonder what the machine's new owner would think if @Aragorn did that.
     
  16. Aragorn

    Aragorn Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    I deleted it from the Find My list, but it said it isn't gone and will show up the next time it's turned on. But if this person turns it on, won't it appear on his own Find My list?
     
  17. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon
    I don't use Apple devices so not sure how that all works.
     
  18. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Shinning Waters
    so why comment?

    Could depend on whether they've set it up on their on account but it is possible to turn it off on your account even though you no longer have the laptop.

    https://support.apple.com/en-ca/guide/findmy-mac/fmm2832fb8f0/mac
     
  19. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon
    What's with alt+tab in Windows now every time you switch windows cortana keeps popping up in the alt+tab menu, never did this before. Reading online the only solution is to kill it in task manager but that is not convenient.
     
  20. KamenRiderBlade

    KamenRiderBlade Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012

    Gamers Nexus - EVGA Terminates NVIDIA Partnership, Cites Disrespectful Treatment