Star Trek and School ?

Discussion in 'Star Trek - The Original & Animated Series' started by plynch, Jan 8, 2015.

1. plynch

plynch Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

For Precalc my daughter had to make a "unit circle." At points around the circle are angles and ratios and whatnot they have to lablel. The student incorporates it into art somehow. "You might be a Star Trek family" when your daughter makes this:

[​IMG]

As a psych teacher I have shown "Enemy Within" and an ENT ep where t'Pol messes around with emotions. (Not every term, and with mandatory writing assignments, O taxpayers.)

Anyone else have experience incorporating Trek into school, either on the teaching or studenting end?

EDIT: any advice on adding the pic? It's hosted on my Google acct. Is that forbidden?

Last edited: Jan 8, 2015
  2. Harvey

Harvey Admiral Admiral

Try Photobucket?

3. Botany Bay

Botany Bay Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

Week 1 of my Auditing subject at university the lecturer was doing an intro to what Auditors do, and how important it is to verify the existence of assets -- first slide he showed was the 11 foot Enterprise, and the second one was a plastic model kit. The idea being you can't rely on people's assertions of what things are -- you need to check them yourself.

Definitely the highlight of that fourteen weeks I can tell you. But I got on with him as a fellow Trekkie and got a great mark -- thanks TOS.

In high school I think the reason I enjoyed Shakespeare so much and did reasonably well in English was because of the dozens of TOS references -- thanks again TOS :)

4. Metryq

Metryq Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

And Bugs Bunny introduced you to symphony and opera, right? :rommie: ("Magic helmet!")

5. Marsden

Marsden Commodore Commodore

Kill the Wabbit! Kill the Wabbit!

6. erastus25

erastus25 Commodore Commodore

I had a HS teacher use Darmok in philosophy class once.

7. Timewalker

Timewalker Cat-lovin', Star Trekkin' Time Lady Premium Member