General Computer Thread

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Amaris, May 26, 2016.

  1. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    Some M2 slots are PCIE which is a lot faster of course the biggest advantage of M2 in laptops is just the size, it is smaller and less thick than a normal SSD.
     
  2. Cyanide Muffin

    Cyanide Muffin All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    In the great hall of Pythea
    Well right now they are pretty cheap so I might try it and if there's no difference I still have my 2.5 inch SSD which can go back in the default slot. Plus I can then take out the fan and do what I had originally intended and that was clean that I got distracted lol. Put the cover back on and forgot about the fan.
     
  3. Owain Taggart

    Owain Taggart Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    I just did the "new" 1089 update and it killed my afternoon. That's one massive update, which is funny because I didn't think MS did big updates like that, but this one literally took hours, from downloading to installing. Was also kind of freaky right after the last reboot for it to have a big blue screen saying "Hi, we have some updates for you. This may take some time", with the blue background pulsing from light to dark.
     
  4. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    Welcome, new beta tester... :p:biggrin:
     
  5. Guy Gardener

    Guy Gardener Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2000
    Location:
    In the lap of squalor I assure you.
    Windows 10 is the last windows.

    In the future they may change their mind, but the plan "currently" is just to update the shit out of windows ten for the next 80 years until the Apes rise up and take over.

    Apes prefer Apple.
     
    Ar-Pharazon likes this.
  6. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    An Aussie in Canukistan
    No taste for Apricots? :)
     
    Guy Gardener and Random_Spock like this.
  7. Cyanide Muffin

    Cyanide Muffin All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    In the great hall of Pythea
    Haha someone remembers Apricot computers





    LGR always do great videos
     
  8. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    There actually have been Mac clones called "Pear" and "Banana" :biggrin:
     
    Amaris likes this.
  9. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    An Aussie in Canukistan
    must have been very obscure as I can't seem to find anything on them and they're not mentioned in the wiki entry for Mac clones.

    But they do list the Wombat in the Apple II clones. The Wombat was an Australian made system sold in the early 1980s at the same Microbee's were the buzz for schools.

    Thing I remember the most from reading a review on the Apricot at the time was it had security for card to accessing the computer/data and if you lost the card you were shit outa luck. Not sure if even the manufacturer could get into reset the system.
     
  10. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
  11. Owain Taggart

    Owain Taggart Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    A bit more on the the Unisys ICON. Looks a bit like the Holborn in terms of how the keyboard was attached to the monitor. It was a computer running a version of UNIX (QNX) with a centrally located server-based storage system. They were big heavy clunky things and very slow. But the idea behind it was that schools and educational insitutions would run programs to teach kids about certain things. For example, I learned a bit about coding via one of these programs, called Wildcard I believe. The keyboard also had a built-in trackball. It was very expensive and it suffered from not having all that many titles developed for it. In the end, the government threw in the towel, but not before several generations of these that lasted up through the early 90's. Some ended up in science centres and museums for use. In the 90's when I was going through high-school, my school had a computer room divided into two sections, one with rows and rows of UNISYS icons, and the other being 90's era PCs. We used those ICONs for a long while and remember wondering enviously when we'd ever get to use the PCs.

    The idea that the OS behind these computers would go on to later power the popular Blackberrys is kind of hilarious in that context.
     
    Cyanide Muffin likes this.
  12. Cyanide Muffin

    Cyanide Muffin All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    In the great hall of Pythea
    Apricot is what I learned to touch type on.
     
  13. Cyanide Muffin

    Cyanide Muffin All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    In the great hall of Pythea
    I found an old Netgear USB 3 wifi adapter and tried it out today and it works still. I'm using it right now but my PC also has an ethernet jack on the back which I have also been using.

    Is there a way to set things up so I can use the wireless adapter and when that's unplugged that the ethernet would take over and vice versa? I abandoned using this adapter because after a few hours it sometimes would shit itself and lock up. Just it would happen at the worst possible moments and that's why I stopped using it. but today it seems to be behaving itself rather well.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2018
  14. Asbo Zaprudder

    Asbo Zaprudder Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Location:
    Spaffing up a wall
    Network failover - which OS are you using? I believe Windoze 10 still defaults to Ethernet whenever available. I don't know if there's a way to override this behaviour in the system settings or registry. For Linux, it's doable using bonding options in a network configuration file - probably there's a GUI way in some distros.
     
  15. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    I actually have no idea, I am slowly getting out of touch with Windows (eww) and I think Linux usually connects with whatver was working the last time it booted.
     
  16. Cyanide Muffin

    Cyanide Muffin All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    In the great hall of Pythea

    I'm using Windoze 10. The very latest update.

    I decided in the long run to "nah screw it" and yanked the ethernet cable altogether. Just using the adapter and we'll see how we go with that for a while. So far the results seem OK to good.
     
  17. Asbo Zaprudder

    Asbo Zaprudder Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Location:
    Spaffing up a wall
    According to the following article, it is possible to prioritise wifi over Ethernet in Win10:

    http://ecross.mvps.org/howto/change-network-connection-priority-in-windows-10.htm

    However, I don't know if Win10 will automatically fail over if a network connection becomes unreliable. My guess is that it won't. Perhaps the professional edition has monitoring tools for configuring this behaviour.
     
  18. Cyanide Muffin

    Cyanide Muffin All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    In the great hall of Pythea

    I already did that put the wireless adapter to a higher priority then the ethernet cable then decided that works so that's where I am now.
     
  19. Asbo Zaprudder

    Asbo Zaprudder Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Location:
    Spaffing up a wall
    It works so long as it works. When it decides it doesn't want to be reliable any more, that's when it'll become annoying to have to reset stuff manually. I used to have problems with wifi dongles (probably because of interference) and Ethernet over mains (likely because of communicating across different mains loops) - in the end, a shortish Ethernet link from my PC to a Netgear wifi extender seemed to do the trick.
     
  20. Cyanide Muffin

    Cyanide Muffin All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    In the great hall of Pythea

    Oh yeah for sure.... It will work for however long the universe decides it will work, then I yank it .