General Computer Thread

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Amaris, May 26, 2016.

  1. Amaris

    Amaris Communist Synthesizer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    United States
    I'll try it, though it seems to be Free Trial rather than freeware.
     
  2. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Shinning Waters

    Yest Syncback is a nice little program - I've used it for years.

    Another free image backup program is Paragon which I also use and it works pretty good and unless they've changed it has totally free version.

    The thing I've found that affects the speed of the image backup is the destination media. I've backup my system using Paragon and it's taken maybe 45 mins to an external USB 3.0 drive. Same program, same external drive on mother-in-law's HP Laptop (running the same model SSD as my desktop) takes a lot lot longer because it's limited to USB2.
     
    Amaris likes this.
  3. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Tyre city
    True, you do have to download it again after it expires, I think that is a small hinderance for what it does. :)
     
    Amaris likes this.
  4. Amaris

    Amaris Communist Synthesizer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    United States
    Do you know if it does incremental backups? That's what really interests me, because I like to backup my drive every week.

    Ah, I see. Okay. :lol:
     
  5. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Shinning Waters
    yes it has an incremental backup option.
     
    Amaris likes this.
  6. Amaris

    Amaris Communist Synthesizer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    United States
    That sounds good! I'll check it out, too!
     
  7. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon
    The Samsung came with its own software but no one I know bothers to use the stuff they give you in the box. I have been using Macrium Reflect and that works flawlessly.

    When I got my new drive at the beginning of May I used Reflect to clone my C: drive to the SSD and even though the C: drive was bigger Reflect was smart enough to know this and copied everything it needed over and adjusted everything to the new drive. Regardless I did a full backup and have that on my B drive which is a 2 terabyte mechanical drive. The same size as my old C: drive..

    I'm seriously considering another 850 Evo of the same size to replace my B drive and I'll keep the old B drive too as that's got my system backup on it. I have learnt the hard way that backups are an essential thing after I had a crash a few years back and lost all my photo shoots and all my documents.
     
    Amaris likes this.
  8. SPCTRE

    SPCTRE Badass Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    SPCTRE
    Congrats on the new rig, @Coloratura - make sure you get in some of that sweet SSD action when a deal presents itself
     
    Amaris likes this.
  9. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Tyre city
    I am really looking forward to AMD's new stuff, not that I need an upgrade, I'm just curious to where they're at.
     
    Amaris likes this.
  10. Amaris

    Amaris Communist Synthesizer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    United States
    I might start small, and get a smaller drive, and if everything looks good, I'll upgrade later. Of course, that's well down the road, but I'll keep it in mind!
     
  11. Amaris

    Amaris Communist Synthesizer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    United States
    Oh, and something else I've discovered: new computers are fast. I keep forgetting my computer is new, and not the old one I've had for nearly a decade. I was looking for a word processing program today, because I write a lot of songs and stories. I have LibreOffice installed, but I remembered how heavy it was and how long it too to load just a simple text document (about 30-45 seconds). So I figured use the app that came with Windows, but I needed something beyond Wordpad because I also take note of word counts and other features I need that it doesn't have. So I tried a couple of tiny lightweight programs and didn't like them for one reason or another.

    Out of frustration, I said out loud "I can't use LibreOffice because..." <double click LibreOffice Write icon> "...it takes way too..." <LibreOffice splash screen> "...long to..." <LibreOffice Word loads> "... oh." :lol:

    Seriously, in the few seconds it took to say that sentence, LibreOffice loaded into memory, and then opened ready to go. I had never seen the program load that damned fast, and I was impressed. I guess I have what I need after all. Hooray, modern computers! :lol:
     
  12. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon
    I still have and use OpenOffice 4 for my writing needs. On the SSD it opens in under 2 seconds.... I timed it

    Just under 3 seconds to load in documents
     
  13. SPCTRE

    SPCTRE Badass Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    SPCTRE
    you'll never look back once you've had your OS boot from an SSD
     
    Amaris and Brefugee like this.
  14. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Shinning Waters
    The system I keep at my in-laws place is currently booting of a a very old seagate 130GB SATA-150 drive and it's painful. NewEgg had a Mushkin Eco 120GB on sale for $CA49.99 so I've ordered on and it will hopefully make a big improve (the system is running a 2nd gen Core i3 that was my wife's until her parents gave her a laptop for Xmas a couple of years back).

    I occasionally have to go out and do a restage for a series of retail outlets and wish their systems had SSDs - it would make thing so much quicker then again so might moving away from the old core2 systems.
     
  15. Amaris

    Amaris Communist Synthesizer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    United States
    Pfft. You say that now, but I won't believe until later after it actually happens. [​IMG]
     
  16. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Tyre city
    There is quite an improvement when you start using an SSD, wished they would make drives out of Static RAM, that is the same stuff as the level 1 cache of a CPU, years ago I saw a 4GB drive made out of the stuff and I think it cost about 40.000 Euro.. :wtf:
     
  17. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon

    Doesn't Static RAM need constant refreshing to keep the data "alive?"

    Nand gates keep the data hence why they are favoured in SSD drives and don't require constant power or refresh cycles..
     
    Amaris likes this.
  18. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Tyre city
    No, it only will start to lose data after a while, its not like DRAM which needs to be refreshed constantly, this is why it is so fast, but its data density is low and it is expensive to make.
     
    Amaris likes this.
  19. Amaris

    Amaris Communist Synthesizer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    United States
    I got my RAM today, now I'm waiting on my video card. The RAM showed an immediate performance boost (I use PCMark 8), which was awesome. Now, though, the big enchilada needs to be tested, but I can't until DHL shows up with it, and I don't like them because their "Friday by 5 PM" usually becomes "Monday by 5 PM" or more likely "Tuesday by 5 PM".

    Anyway, I wanted to post this. I actually sat down for half an hour here, and did my damndest to recall all of my computers I've had. I put them in a list, and they bring back SO many memories. I did leave out computers I had rented to own (I had several like that, but I never had them for more than a month or two) or computers I built from scrap parts and gave away, so these are all personally owned computers. I tried to be specific as possible but, as you can imagine, remembering a computer I haven't seen in 20 years might be hard to recall completely. At least, it's that way for me.

    So here they are:

    1993
    Commodore 64c

    1.023 Mhz w/ integrated VIC II (video) and SID (sound) 6510 Co-processor
    64KB RAM
    VIC II Graphics Co-processor (16 color)
    SD Television (RGB 320x200)
    20 KB ROM (No HDD)
    720 KB 5.25" Floppy Disk Drive (1541 C)
    Cassette Drive
    SID Audio Co-processor
    Commodore BASIC (No OS)


    1994
    Zenith DataSystems 286

    12 Mhz Intel 286 Processor
    1 MB RAM
    Oak Technologies EGA Card
    Zenith 14" EGA Monitor (640x350)
    300 MB HDD
    1.44 MB 3.5" Floppy Diskette Drive
    720 KB 5.25" Floppy Disk Drive
    PC Speaker (Bleep Bloop Bleep)
    DOS 5.0, Windows 3.1


    1996
    Laser Personal Computer

    33Mhz Intel 386DX Processor
    6 MB RAM
    Oak Technologies 256 KB EGA Card
    Sabre 15" EGA Monitor (640x350)
    600 MB HDD
    1.44 MB 3.5" Floppy Diskette Drive
    720 KB 5.25" Floppy Disk Drive
    Single Speed CD-ROM (Caddy)
    9600 Baud Practical Peripherals Modem (upgraded to 14.4Kbps PPM)
    Soundblaster Pro Sound Card
    DOS 6.22, Windows 3.11


    1999
    HP Pavilion 6635

    533Mhz Celeron Processor
    64 MB PC-100 RAM
    32 MB Onboard Video Memory
    HP 15" SVGA Monitor (800x600)
    10 GB HDD
    1.44 MB 3.5" Floppy Diskette Drive
    12X DVD ROM Drive
    56K Modem/NIC Card
    Soundblaster Compatible Onboard Audio / Polk Audio Speakers
    DOS 7, Windows 98 SE (downgraded to WinME, then upgraded to 98 SE again)


    2003
    Compaq Presario

    350Mhz AMD K6-2
    128 MB PC-100 RAM
    32 MB Onboard Video Graphics (SVGA)
    15" AOC SVGA Monitor (1024x768)
    20 GB HDD
    1.44 MB 3.5" Floppy Diskette Drive
    52X CD-ReWritable
    28.8K Lasat External Modem (upgraded to internal U.S. Robotics 56K Modem)/NIC Card
    Avance Logic Sound Card
    DOS 7, Windows 98 SE (Upgraded to WinXP Home)


    2004
    Gateway 2000 P5-60

    60 Mhz Intel Pentium Processor
    64 MB RAM
    8 MB Onboard Video Graphics (SVGA)
    17" Gateway CRT Monitor (1024x768)
    10 GB HDD
    1.44 MB 3.5" Floppy Diskette Drive
    8X CD-ROM Drive
    56K Modem
    Soundblaster Compatible Onboard Audio
    DOS 7, Windows 98


    2005
    Custom Built System

    1.6Ghz AMD Athlon XP 2800+
    2 GB PC-333 RAM
    Nvidia (XFX) GeForce FX 5200 8x AGP 128 MB Graphics Card
    17" Sceptre LCD Flat Panel Monitor (1650x1020)
    40 GB HDD
    1.44 MB 3.5" Floppy Diskette Drive
    12X DVD/CD ReWritable (DVD, CD)
    56K Modem/NIC Card
    Soundblaster Compatible Onboard Audio
    Windows XP Home Edition


    2009
    HP Pavilion a6803w

    2.5Ghz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor (Dual Core)
    3 GB RAM
    ATI Radeon HD4670 16x PCI-E 2 GB Graphics Card
    19" HP 2009m LCD Flat Panel Monitor (1600x900)
    500 GB HDD, 1 TB Secondary HDD
    12X LightScribe SuperMulti-Drive (DVD, CD)
    56K Modem/NIC Card
    Soundblaster Compatible Onboard Audio
    Windows Vista (upgraded to Windows 7) (Upgraded to Windows 10)


    2016 (Current)
    HP Pavilion 550-153wb

    3.7Ghz Intel i3 Dual Core Processor
    16 GB Mushkin DDR3 PC3L-12800 RAM
    Nvidia GeForce 740 16x PCI-E 1 GB Graphics Card
    23" HP LED Flat Panel Monitor (1920x1080)
    1 TB HDD, 1 TB Secondary HDD
    24x SuperMulti-Drive (DVD, CD)
    B&O (Bang & Olufsen) Premium Onboard Audio
    Windows 10 Home
     
    Santaman likes this.
  20. publiusr

    publiusr Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    publiusr