General Computer Thread

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Coloratura, May 26, 2016.

  1. Tetragrammaton Invictus

    Tetragrammaton Invictus I like Ellie Bishop Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    About to steal the TARDIS
    I don't have an account with Photobucket but on web forums like this one images don't show up for me and all I get is the placeholder mentioning 3rd party hosting.

    Is anyone else getting this as well? I've never had an acocunt with them.
     
  2. Mr Soak

    Mr Soak Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Location:
    Tamworth NSW, Australia
    That's how it works. Photobucket has started blocking third party hosting unless the account holder pays them $400 per year.

    There are threads about it in Miscellaneous.
     
  3. Tetragrammaton Invictus

    Tetragrammaton Invictus I like Ellie Bishop Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    About to steal the TARDIS
    So even though I don't have an account with them I am still getting the placeholder?
     
  4. Asbo Zaprudder

    Asbo Zaprudder Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Location:
    Bulent's Cafe
    Didn't spot any reference to qudits - only qubits - similarly for D-wave's website.

    Their systems use the adiabatic model rather than the gate/circuit model so it's only suited to global-optimisation problems (specifically, quadratic unconstrained binary optimisation (QUBO) problems) for which one would use simulated annealing, gradient descent, Monte-Carlo methods etc on conventional computers. Studies appear to show it's not mere snake oil.
    https://bits.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/03/24/quantum-computing-research-may-back-controversial-company/
     
  5. Tetragrammaton Invictus

    Tetragrammaton Invictus I like Ellie Bishop Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    About to steal the TARDIS

    Thanks for the links.........

    Found this gem from the 90s..... Something I've never seen.

     
    Asbo Zaprudder likes this.
  6. Guy Gardener

    Guy Gardener Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2000
    Location:
    In the lap of squalor I assure you.
    I found AV controls on the hotel TV remote this time, so I was able to connect my lap top to the TV, even if there still were not enough buttons to manipulate a thumb drive, after I was chuffed figuring out that my old DVD player (with a pendrive port) had the right cables to plug into AV1, which is where I thought the ####er was fixed.

    The fridge broke, turned into a freezer, which did a real number on my strawberries.

    After a bell hop couldn't fix the fridge, he called for an engineer to replace our mini fridge and the mini bar.... Immediately After the engineer had finished this... One of my external hard drives stopped working. No lights, no hum, no bing bong music when my ancient lap top recognizes a usb device... Dead as VHS, which it, my hard drive, bares more than a passing resemblance to. :)

    Roots...

    1. The engineer dropped a mini fridge on my hard drive (which was on the ground, under a table), or rammed it with a dolly/trolley while carting a mini fridge in or out of my hotel room, or he just plain tripped over it in steel capped work boots.

    2. Maybe a powersurge destroyed the fridge? It was two days earlier, but if the hotel room draws in power surges, that could have fried my hard drive while i was out of the room for less than a hour, as a work person was in here working with the room's electricity, hell; even the act of unplugging or plugging in the mini fridge might have caused a new power surge. Also earlier that day, both our card keys demagnetized for no reason, except maybe a "Ghost".

    3. Random bad luck and it had nothing to do with the engineer or the hotels hypothetically bad wiring.

    Sigh.

    Solutions.

    1. Sometimes corrupted program-files can be fixed by plugging in a new neighborly device in the network which has no issues.

    2. It's possibly just the enclosure that is broken, and the hard drive inside the enclosure is fine, and i just have to buy an adapter/new enclosure, or plug the bugger inside a compatible PC's guts to see if it boots, and then transfer 3 gbs of data some where more reliable.

    3. I'm frakked.
     
  7. Santaman

    Santaman Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    I've had two enclosures break down while the HDD inside was fine, just plug it into a PC and copy that floppy (:p) to another external device.
     
  8. publiusr

    publiusr Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
  9. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    An Aussie in Canukistan
    Its quite common in the industry for smaller companies to be bought out by the biggers one for their intellectual property (and I suspect the guy who sold bill gates DOS for $50k in the very early 80s is still kicking himself for not asking for more).

    For Apple to see how things could tie into its future products doubly so.
     
  10. Santaman

    Santaman Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    Intergalactic Digital Research... it could have been CP/M
    I wonder how things would have developed if Kildall had accepted IBM's offer..
     
  11. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    An Aussie in Canukistan
    Can't rember it was Accidental Empires (Robert X. Cringely) or Hackers (Steve Levy) that gives details on that but supposedly Kildall didn't know until much later that IBM came knocking. Seems that IBM had a very nasty NDA along the lines of you're dead if you reveal what we say but we can tell the world what you say so when the rocked up his wife refused the NDA (he wan't there at the time) and they wouldn't say what they wanted without it being signed.

    Though perhaps a better whatif would be if IBM hadn't gone cheap with with the 8088 but had looked to the Motorola 68000 which was already a 16bit chip. No DOS, no 8bit starting point, 640k limit, no braindead (Bill Gate's description) 80286.
     
  12. Santaman

    Santaman Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    The 8088 was 16 bit except for the data bus which, they also already had used the Intel 8080, 8085 and the 8088 in other machines, they knew it and based the expansion slot design on that of the Datamaster business machine, the 68000 was way to expensive and it would have required a full new 16 bit bus system and so on.

    If IBM had gone in house they might have chosen the IBM 801 chip which was a research project at the time resulting in the Power architecture, it ran at 15mhz and 15 MIPS already at that time, the 8086/8 0.33 and the 68000 1.4 MIPS, the 801 would have been faster than an AM386 40Mhz chip... Imagine that.

    Yep, the 286 was a little strange, on the other hand, programs at the time would only use it as a really fast 8086 anyway, when it was totally obsolete more sophisticated programs finally started to use some of the 286/386 features.
     
  13. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    An Aussie in Canukistan
    part of that was to get the best out of 286 you had to run in protected mode but if you had something that couldn't be run while in protected mode it was time for the three-finger salute.

    The 286 era was also the beginning of OS/2 but also co-incided with a massve jump in memory prices. Sure OS/2 could address up to 16MB but who could afford it.

    BTW do you remember cards such as the Hyper-RAM? would fit into an 16bit ISA slot but were addresses as system RAM?
     
  14. Santaman

    Santaman Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    Yes, I remember the EMS cards which added EMS RAM to the system and IBM had a card which could turn that even into XMS RAM, the only card I have here at home is the IBM extension card which was used to get the original XT board up to 640Kb, the board itself only had sockets for 512 kb IIRC.
    The same with my IBM AT, the mainboard holds 512Kb, the extension card makes it 640Kb or 1Mb, I can't remeber, fished the AT's mainboard and its expension cards out of a trashcan, fitted it into an Aopen ATX casing of which it fills the entire mainboard tray, a Delta PSU of 250 watts, a strange but working Chinese VGA card a 1.22Mb floppy drive and a HUGE Seagate ST-4026 5.25" full hight 20Mb Voice Coil drive.. :mallory: Beastie lives!

    I've got two Philips XT's the NMS 9100 and the identical P 3105 they both have 768Kb RAM instead of 640 because of their bank layout and there is an UMA driver for it.. :biggrin:
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2017
  15. Tetragrammaton Invictus

    Tetragrammaton Invictus I like Ellie Bishop Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    About to steal the TARDIS
    Had to reset my windows phone and now the bloody thing won't sync. Grrrrrr I signed into my Microsoft account but the people and calendar app just won't update.

    Why MS why do you make stuff that never works 100% all the time?
     
  16. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    An Aussie in Canukistan
    there is no major software on this planet that works 100% of the time and secondly a lot of problems are easily attributable to user error.
     
    KennyB likes this.
  17. Santaman

    Santaman Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    The error occured between chair and keyboard.:shifty: Yes, that is a famous one..
     
  18. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    An Aussie in Canukistan
    yep good old PEBKAC.
     
  19. Santaman

    Santaman Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    ID-10T error
    PICNIC (problem in chair not in computer)
    IBM error (Idiot Behind Machine error)
    Carbon based error (computers are silicon based)
    Many more exist.. :D
     
  20. Tetragrammaton Invictus

    Tetragrammaton Invictus I like Ellie Bishop Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    About to steal the TARDIS
    That may well be true. But in this case my laptop synced perfectly to my PC and both are using Microsoft Accounts but the phone just won't play nice. It's always been a little flakey and works sometimes and not others.