Yorktown-Class

EliyahuQeoni

Commodore
Commodore
Ok, this is my first attempt at Starship design. This is based on the well known pre-production sketch by Matt Jefferies, which was basically an inverted version of what would become the more familiar Constitution-Class. I started out with bits and pieces in Vance's toolkits and adjusted them to fit my design better. My goal was to try and stay true to Jefferies sketch and not have it just be a mere rearrangement of Connie components. The saucer is meant to be roughly the same size as the Connie saucer. This is in line with the specuation that the Constellation was originally of this class and refitted later. I would speculate that this was possible due to the primary hulls of both designs using a very similar space-frame.

By and large I didn't have any great technological theories behind the design. I just wanted something that looked good AND was somewhat true to the sketch. I'm still not 100% pleased with it though & will likely tweak the design at some point in the future.

Hope you enjoy!
Yorktown-Classcopy.jpg

Looks good EliyahuQeoni. I'm no expert but you could try moving the nacelles forward a touch, but leave the pylons where they are on the saucer. I don't know if this would move it out of the realm of faithfulness to MJ's original design, but it may give it a more pleasing line. Hope this might help in some way.

Another suggestion, add more 'meat' to the engine pylons. They're way to teeny as it is. :)

Thanks for the suggestions. I had some trouble placing the nacelles satisfactorily, so its no surprise to me that there are still problems in that area.

Vance - Looking at the design again I see what you mean. Those are a bit teeny! Back to the drawing board! :D

Ok, take two. I adjusted the nacelles slightly and beefed up the support pylons. Thanks again for the feedback!
Yorktown-Class-2copy.jpg

Thanks for the encouraging words, everyone!