What about the sound effects?

Discussion in 'Star Trek: Discovery' started by Cyanide Muffin, May 30, 2019.

1. Cyanide Muffin

Cyanide Muffin All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

I think the sound design on the show as pretty good as much as the visual effects but in the 2 parter finale for season 2 did they use JJ Trek engine sounds?

When the ships went to warp it sounded like the JJprise?

2. King Daniel Beyond

King Daniel Beyond Fleet Admiral Admiral

As far as I can tell (and I'm no expert) the sound design on the show draws from every iteration of Trek. TOS bridge sounds, TNG noises for hailing frequencies and other tidbits, Voyager's sound for Pike's ready room and I'm pretty sure they used Kelvin button sounds (or something very similar) when Michael was crawling through air ducts on the palace ship in the mirror universe finale. So I wouldn't be surprised if the warp jump was the Kelvin noise, since it was certainly made to resemble it visually.

Cyanide Muffin and saddestmoon like this.
  3. Cyanide Muffin

Cyanide Muffin All hail Doctor 13 Premium Member

When the Enterprise hit it for warp it was most noticeable and yep they did try to capture the same look too. I liked the sounds.

4. The Wormhole

The Wormhole Admiral Admiral

I've noticed a lot of 24th century computer sounds and alarms used throughout the show. Except the Enterprise, which takes all its auditory cues from TOS.

5. NCC-73515

NCC-73515 Lieutenant Junior Grade Red Shirt

And the 24th century Klingon and Romulan alert sounds that Starfleet is using 100 years earlier... so damn lazy that they didn't come up with anything new, and instead reused sounds that make no sense and don't fit at all!

6. The Wormhole

The Wormhole Admiral Admiral