The Sequel Hints for Improving Trek (S.H.I.T.) List

Discussion in 'Star Trek Movies: Kelvin Universe' started by FabiusMaximus, May 29, 2009.

1. FabiusMaximus

FabiusMaximus Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

The Sequel Hints for Improving Trek List

For Bob and/or creative staff if you’re reading:
    • Engineering – redo, rethink – You’ve got the bucks saved in the other sets now so please improve for next film (have it as Scotty’s idea – now that he’s the ship’s engineer he would want to make improvements – he is a miracle worker after all)
    • Story – You guys really nailed the characters and spectacle of the film no question. The origin story/alternate universe was in my opinion a great way to start, reboot, etc., but now that everyone’s in place the next one needs fewer holes. Tighten it, make it leaner and meaner and let’s explore – remember when we were explorers?
    • Humor – Keep it character oriented: the raised eyebrow, the I’m a doctor not a…, the looks and winks, etc. (keep Scotty out of the plumbing)
    • Spock&Uhura – Okay. Didn’t mind this so much, but no PDA’s for Vulcans please
    • The Old Guys – Now I know I’m in the minority in this, but I love seeing the original cast and would not object to a final farewell scene from Nimoy/Shatner (and the rest) if the story can handle it.
    • Villain – I love a good villain too, but next time, keep him/her hidden. It makes it more intriguing when it’s not so obvious.
    • Lens flares – Much to do about nothing, but they seem to be a problem for some
    • Casting – Thought everyone was fantastic – no changes there. Give us a Rand, Chapel, Kyle and bring back Pike.
    • Direction – Pause a few times in the film. I know its part of the blockbuster world of today to go fast, but give us a few minutes to allow the scenes to resonate (you’ve got great actors who can handle this)
    Anyone want to add or substract?

2. perigee

perigee Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

Re: The S.H.I.T. List