Model Newbie - help!

Turbo

Changeling
Premium Member
I am a total newbie in terms of model kits. Couple questions:

1) What would be a good 'starter' Trek kit?
2) Do I need to use an airbrush to get good results? If so, what kind?
3) What kind of paint should I use?

Each of those questions is up to discussion, but if you want a good basic starter kit, I'd say start with and old school Galileo, AMT Enterprise, or AMT Refit. These are not the ultimate in accuracy, far from it, but they give you a chance to get your legs under you, to get started.

Paint; No, you do not have to have an airbrush, especially to start. You can start out with acryilc paints, enamels... whatever. The best, cheap way and easiest way is to start with spray cans, paint you buy at WalMart, or somewhere similar.

Since you're just begining, start out easy and take some time to develope your skills. Don't expect to create a *Prop Replica* your first model. It's a skill that is developed like anything else.

Thanks for the tips.

Would the Polar Lights classic Enterprise (1/1000) be a good starter kit, or would the AMT still be better?

It really depends on what you want. It's a small ship, about 11" and it's a snap together kit. It's really easy to assemble and the decals are pretty good, out of the box. It's up to you. I suggest you sand the copyright info off of the underside of the saucer and use the decals instead of the stickers. The saucer can be a little difficult to actually get into place on the neck and there are a couple of other small issues, but no kit's perfect.

What ever works for you. I was thinking of a glue kit though.

Turbo said:
Thanks for the tips.

Would the Polar Lights classic Enterprise (1/1000) be a good starter kit, or would the AMT still be better?