Could Trek, In Essence - Come True?

Discussion in 'General Trek Discussion' started by Romulan Loyalist, Dec 11, 2016.

1. Romulan Loyalist

Romulan Loyalist Lieutenant Red Shirt

Ok - I have searched and no luck.. So it seems that this is not covered. If I missed it - My apologies.

Been rewatching DS9 - and randomly TNG, VOY, and etc... Something occurred to me.. What if...

Could this all be happening in some form right now? I am not meaning conspiracy theories, UFO's or alien abductions... But - could there be entities out there, in our Galaxy, similar to those we see in Star Trek?

The Drake Equation says that this is likely... yet modern science (archaic by Trek standards - mind you) says that warp speed is impossible (Due to Einstein saying so in the 1905???) that aliens would never reach us or even hear about us for millions of years etc etc...

Now - I am no scientist - however, if Einstein was wrong, and we currently are too primitive to see that at this point in our technology, what if there are cultures out there? Like the Vulcans were uninterested in Earth due to us being too primitive, or like the Federation used duck-blind missions to observe less advanced cultures, we are just not on the radar yet.

Could this be possible? I would argue yes - that it could be. I highly doubt we would be the only sentient life forms in an unlimited universe... and I also doubt the Einstein, in 1905, would be the absolute authority on the future of space travel and physics... Theories are broken - revised, proven wrong... Why would FTL travel be any different? Alien life could be exactly as Roddenberry envisioned it - and actually, I believe his vision of alien species would be more accurate than the little green men and odd imaginations written about currently on conspiracy theorist websites and such.

Thoughts?

2. The Old Mixer

The Old Mixer Mih ssim, mih ssim, nam, daed si Xim. Moderator