Can an expert explain Evolution to me?

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Galactus, Sep 15, 2008.

1. Galactus

Galactus Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

If there is an expert in the study of evolution, can you please explain it to me? When I say expert I mean someone that has a bachelor, masters, PhD in biology and works in the field today as a scientist.

I am just looking for the evidence and data that convinces so many people in the scientific community that they are correct. It seems like evolution is the one thing they state as fact, when it has always been my experience that scientists always speak of everything as a theory.

Please enlighten me.

2. Mike Okuda

Mike Okuda Commander Red Shirt

3. Galactus

Thanks for the link, but I am looking for a little more meat than that.

4. Lindley

Lindley Moderator with a Soul Premium Member

Superbacteria. That's evolution in action.

5. PlixTixiplik

PlixTixiplik Commodore Commodore

I have a PhD in paleontology and cover evolution (briefly) in my lectures so I'd be happy to answer questions. It's a very broad and complicated topic so I can't really type out everything (and the website Mike gave is a good introduction). But if you have questions about particular things you find there or elsewhere I can definitely try to answer them.

Evolution is a very non-intuitive thing, for several reasons I think. First, speciation typically takes too long so a single person can't observe it in a lifetime. We live in the "middle world" where we really just don't get things that are very big or very small, or take a very long or very short time. Second, nearly every complex item that we deal with on a daily basis was designed (cars, computers, etc.) so it's natural to make the leap that everything complex was designed. Living things are obviously very complex so it's easy to view them as designed as well.