Any reason why Disco isn't 4K?

Discussion in 'Star Trek: Discovery' started by Mage, Feb 12, 2018.

  1. Reyman

    Reyman Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    It's not in 4K, but the picture quality on Netflix for the second season looks noticeably better.
     
  2. Red Panda

    Red Panda Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    They'll pull a Game of Thrones and release the 4K version at a later date.
     
  3. Tuskin38

    Tuskin38 Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Nah, it wasn't formatted in 4k.
     
    ITDUDE likes this.
  4. Red Panda

    Red Panda Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    It is though.
     
  5. BillJ

    BillJ Canon Warrior Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Location:
    Escaped from Trumpistan
    If it was shot in 2.8k and the effects are done in 2k, then it really isn't 4k.
     
  6. JoeP

    JoeP Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Location:
    The Mighty Dominion of Canada
    It's 4.8K.
     
  7. BillJ

    BillJ Canon Warrior Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Location:
    Escaped from Trumpistan
    :lol:
     
  8. Campe

    Campe Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Location:
    Texas
    I heard it was shot in 1.21 gigawatts.
     
    MSPpete, Kor and BillJ like this.
  9. Tuskin38

    Tuskin38 Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Not the final product.
     
  10. BillJ

    BillJ Canon Warrior Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Location:
    Escaped from Trumpistan
    I imagine the show itself was mastered in 2K. They could release it in 4K, but there wouldn't be any more detail. You'd just be buying a box with "4K" on it.
     
    Kor, Campe and Tuskin38 like this.
  11. ITDUDE

    ITDUDE Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    But Panda says so, so it must be so. He'll also put it in spoiler tags because he'll say it's a spoiler :guffaw:
     
  12. Red Panda

    Red Panda Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Well even 2K (2.8K in Season 1's case) is better than 1080p.
     
  13. BillJ

    BillJ Canon Warrior Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Location:
    Escaped from Trumpistan
    It really isn't, as you'd have to squish the horizontal resolution to get all the information on screen.

    https://www.digitalcitizen.life/what-screen-resolution-or-aspect-ratio-what-do-720p-1080i-1080p-mean
     
  14. Reyman

    Reyman Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Has anyone seen the latest ai upscaling on the new 8K TVs? The pixel count may be overkill for most home set ups, but the upscaling is a huge leap forward than we've had with 4K sets.

    1080 sources upscaled look as good, if not better than 4k content on most current 4k Tvs.