3D Software?

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by JoshC, Jan 26, 2004.

  1. martok2112

    martok2112 Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    My K't'inga
    [​IMG]

    I'm particularly proud of how this turned out:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And what is starship porn without a booty shot? :D
    [​IMG]

    Components built and textured in Blender, assembled and rendered in iClone 5.5 PRO.

    Dammit, now I wanna get iClone 6 PRO with all the advances it has made so I can further improve my models, and get back to reworking my Captain's Logs Declassified movie.

    Prior to my computers going bzzzt, I had done tons more stuff, but I don't wanna hijack this thread. :) Perhaps I'll repost in the main part of the fan-art section. :)
     
  2. murby

    murby Ensign Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    Italy
  3. dubeau

    dubeau Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    I want to try Modo. That look like a nice 3D program but just not sure about a certain number of things, like the interface for example. Gonna give the demo a try.

    Update: Difficult interface...small icons and a tons of sub menus, all over the place and not well focused. Will stick with 3dsmax and C4d as my two best.
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2016
  4. kennysmith

    kennysmith Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    To the person who posted the last post on this website i want to give you a thank you for giveing everyone who may like that software for there computer.
     
  5. kennysmith

    kennysmith Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Location:
    sacramento ca
    to any one who see this i need all of your help in this please?, i am looking for a program that can build or make a star ship on two type of computers of a pc win 7 and a old amiga 2000 with a 68040 cpu. i want a old program that can be a free program on the internet and can work on both computers?.
    i do hope you can send me a full link to the website who have this program?.
    i am wanting to try to build a star ship of a old enterprise ncc 1701?.
    get back to me if you fine this program. here is my page here.
     
  6. dubeau

    dubeau Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Your specs are very old, especially the Amiga. I don't remember any 3D tools that can work on this. 3D was more around the time of windows 98-XP+, otherwise you had game like the original Doom, Quake, Wolfenstein that were the hit back then. Their tools might be free. Think of gaming for a platform or an era, and by searching the tools used to create them, you might find them available. Otherwise on win7 PC you can use Bryce, sketchup, Daz (free). The easiest one is Cinema 3D in my book.
     
  7. Tallguy

    Tallguy Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Beyond the Farthest Star
    Heh. Doom was DOS. Quake was Windows 95.

    The Amiga was a leader in 3D at the time (I believe it made Babylon 5).

    But no, you're not going to find compatible software for platforms 20 years apart. Never mind the free part.
     
  8. dubeau

    dubeau Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Location:
    Canada, Quebec
    Yes, and those two OS were giving me nightmares with those games. Always crashing and not so fun stuff...They run better from Win 98 and XP, in general. It took some times after those games until we really got some good 3d tools, and they were not free. The quality of the 3D was basic until Unreal (the game). Pretty sure 3D Max was there at version 3 or 4 then...but I was gaming only in that time. But my memory didn't register everything back then...maybe it was better forgetting some...
     
  9. M2m

    M2m Ensign Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Babylon 5 (first couple of seasons) was done on amiga and a commercial software called Lightwave 3D by Newtek. I think at that time they used Version 3.5 or so.

    The current version is 11.X which runs on Windows and Mac. Not sure if the file formats are compatible.

    As a side note lightwave was also used for some of the cgi of DS9.

    https://www.lightwave3d.com/buy-lightwave/
     
  10. Tallguy

    Tallguy Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Beyond the Farthest Star
    Lightwave is very not free.
     
  11. M2m

    M2m Ensign Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    That's why I added the purchase link to my post. I doubt there is a free software which covers Amiga and PC. Also compared to the price of 1994 where it was 4000 EUR the current pricing is really a bargain.
     
  12. BorgMan

    BorgMan Captain Captain

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Location:
    it's the almighty MANBORG!!!
    You might even be better off buying a computer for around $300,- for light modeling work with SketchUp Make or Blender (which are both free), instead of relying on the Amiga. Scrap the might; you are better off. The Amiga is so outdated that you won't find anything for it anymore and even if you do, the tools available are nothing compared to what you can get out of a free package nowadays. Or try the second hand market for an affordable PC on which you can work. Go for something with at least a quadcore and a decent graphics card. If possible, try to pick one with a motherboard that is less than three years old. This will make sure that when and if you have the money, you can upgrade as you go without too much trouble finding compatible components. 8GB RAM will do fine for now, and if you want more: go wild. RAM is pretty cheap nowadays.