Voyager: Fight For Family

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction' started by Orion's Belt 27, Sep 8, 2016.

1. Orion's Belt 27

Orion's Belt 27 Ensign Red Shirt

Posted on FF.net.

Summary & Notes:

A few months after Voyager's return to the Federation, Kathryn Janeway and her husband find themselves facing the threat of a madman who has vowed to destroy both their families. AU.

I'm aware a particular plot element here would likely be considered void with the advances of 24th century medicine, but the idea wouldn't let go. I am not a doctor, so there are likely plenty of medical mistakes here. Constructive concrit on correcting these mistakes is welcome, but flames are not.

This will be a non-linear tale, with chapters jumping back and forth in the timeline, including flashbacks on Voyager, but I promise it will all make sense in the end. The next chapter will retell this scene from Janeway's POV.

OC/Canon pairing may be strange to many of you, but I hope you'll give the story a chance.

Fight For Family

Chapter One

I lie awake, staring at the ceiling. The steady beep of the heart monitor and the sound of Kathryn's soft breathing are the only sounds to be heard in the room. I know I should try to roll over in bed and press the call button to summon a nurse, but doing so would waken Kathryn, and I would rather not have her see my humiliation.

I grit my teeth in frustration. Stupid, stupid, stupid! How could I have let her stay with me tonight? Perhaps I should have insisted she go back to our quarters to stay with Eddie and Caleb, but we had been forced to sleep apart for so long during the journey back to Earth and the first few weeks here at Starfleet Medical that I wanted her close to me, even if it was only in the same room. I had thought it would be all right, that I would make it through the night, but I was wrong.

A bitter snort escapes my lips. Fortunately, Kathryn does not wake.