USS Zell NCC-1905

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by nicholasm, Jan 20, 2020.

1. nicholasm

nicholasm Lieutenant Red Shirt

First off, this is my first time uploading one of my designs to this forum.
    I am a huge fan of the Cage and WNMHGB style, so I've tried to incorporate that as well as some DSC influences.
    This space-vehicle is the USS ZELL, an Atlanta-class long-range exploration vessel.
    It has a crew of 836.
    Width: 1,602 feet from the edges of the saucer.
    Length: 3,442.5 feet from the end of the nacelles to the forward edge of the saucer.
    It has 23 decks, with each deck being ten feet tall and with five feet between decks for service tunnels, the space-frame, etc.
    I don't know if links are allowed, but this is a link to the IMGUR page where I've got more pictures that I can post here.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Atolm, tax1234 and Gibraltar like this.
  2. BorgMan

BorgMan Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

Nice design! Next time you make a saucer, increase the number of segments in your segment count. Before doing anything else, select the Circle tool, click anywhere on the canvas with it, and type s followed by your preferred amount of segments. SketchUp creates a standard circle of 24 segments (if you look at your saucer, you can see it's made up out of 24 segments - 12 per half). Personally I always work in powers of 2: s48, s96 or s192. Keep in mind that if you do it this way, SketchUp will create every circle for the rest of the current session with that number of segments. When you restart the program, it becomes the standard 24 again. If you already made a circle and want to increase the amount, you can also right / context click it and hit Entity Info, where you can then adjust the amount in the Segments box, third from top. Keep in mind you can only adjust the segments as long as you didn't edit the circle, so no scaling or use of the Push / Pull tool before you decide you want a smoother saucer!