General Computer Thread

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Amaris, May 26, 2016.

  1. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Shinning Waters
    Could have been worse - could have been on one those old Dallas RTC where the battery is embeded in the plastic and you either have to desolder the chip and replace it (unless yours is socketted) or dremel the top off.

    Was it a name brand system? Can't recall ever seeing a motherboard coming with the battery pack but have recollection of them in name brand systems (NEC, Epson, Compaq) but then again I also remember the ones that you'd stick 4 AAAA batteries in the and then use double sided tap to hold it to the back of the case.
     
  2. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon
    Good job......

    What kind of board was it? make, model?
     
  3. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Tyre city
    It is a mini ITX AM1 board, made by MSI, I assume the size of it is the reason the didn't include a full socket, real estate is a tad restricted, however there are vertical battery sockets as well... https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/AM1I/Specification
    Can't really complain about the board itself, it has been going for 5 or 6 years without the slightest problem.
    As for Dallas RTC clocks.. oh yeah.. I know them.. I have quite a few Pentium era mainboards that have them... :wtf:
     
  4. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Shinning Waters

    Guess Asrock were smarter:). I have one of their M-Itx boards and they simply flipped the battery mount through 90 degrees so the CR-2302 sits vertically and doesn’t take up as much real estate.
     
    Santaman likes this.
  5. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Tyre city
    ^^ I've got a Compaq Deskpro 2000 which also has a vertical battery socket so yeah, MSI could have used one as well, the one I made seems to do its job so the next 5 years or so I'll won't have to worry about it. :D
     
  6. KamenRiderBlade

    KamenRiderBlade Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    I made a updated RAM Timing Table for those who care about these sorts of things
    Updated the DDR speeds to go all the way up to DDR5 speeds and the "True Latency" behind all those RAM timing #'s you usually see on the package.

    RAM Memory Timings = CL - tRCD - tRP - tRAS - CR

    [​IMG]

    Feel free to save the table for reference later
     
  7. publiusr

    publiusr Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    publiusr
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2022
  8. think

    think calling underdog Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    think
  9. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon
    Useful graphic thank you.
     
    think likes this.
  10. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Shinning Waters
    don't get it do you.
     
    think likes this.
  11. KamenRiderBlade

    KamenRiderBlade Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Would you like to elaborate?
     
    think likes this.
  12. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon
    It's a timing chart, what is not to get FFS this board
     
  13. Asbo Zaprudder

    Asbo Zaprudder Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Location:
    Asbo Zaprudder
    Perhaps it was ambiguous which graphic you were referring to? In any case, I agree it didn't warrant such a comment. I doubt I'll have any use for the timing chart but I'll remember it's here just in case.
     
    think likes this.
  14. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon
    It was a dram latency table.

    dram latency table.png
     
    think likes this.
  15. Asbo Zaprudder

    Asbo Zaprudder Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Location:
    Asbo Zaprudder
    Yeah, I know. I was using your previous phrasing of it.
     
  16. Santaman

    Santaman Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Tyre city
    think likes this.
  17. KamenRiderBlade

    KamenRiderBlade Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    ^_^
     
    think likes this.
  18. publiusr

    publiusr Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    publiusr
  19. Ar-Pharazon

    Ar-Pharazon Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Far North Chicago Suburbs
    First time, I bought an actual new laptop, a Dell Latitude 5501. It’s a 2020 model, and I think one of the last Latuitudes with removable RAM.

    I got tired of the older models and old style docks having issues running 2 monitors and generally being junky.

    Look how much RAM I was able to shoehorn in, despite Dell saying the max is 32GB.
    System Information Dell 5501 8-1-22 1b.jpg

    The only problem was, I bought a 2TB standard Samsung SSD to upgrade from the 256GB it came with, but it turns out it has the NVMe “stick” SSD, so I had to go out and get one of those. I guess I have a spare 2TB SSD now to go along with a couple 1TB's.


    As far as HDD's, I have just a few for all the ripped TV shows and movies, in duplicate.
    Myriad HDD's 1b.jpg
     
  20. Gingerbread Demon

    Gingerbread Demon Stealer of all the cookies in time and space Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Gingerbread Demon

    Niiiiiiiiiiice....... Yes lovely ram size there. I don't know why they cap it at 32gig in the specifications, maybe that is what they assume most people would do or some other issue but well done there.

    As for those drives have you ever considered putting them all into one enclosure like a Hotway probox or something similar where they can all be accessed at once.
     
    Ar-Pharazon likes this.