Free website recommendation

Discussion in 'Web Sites/Design' started by Arpy, Sep 25, 2019.

1. Arpy

Arpy Vice Admiral Admiral

hi, I’m completely new to web everything, and I’m looking for a recommendation to a free website host to create a Trek fan page.

I see some useful links above but the two I followed ultimately asked for money to buy a domain name. Is there anything completely free?

Thanks!

EDIT: Also, I’m basically a Luddite, so the easier to use the better... Thanks, again!

2. fireproof78

fireproof78 Fleet Admiral Admiral

Tuesday likes this.
  3. Timby

Timby o yea just like that Administrator

Just build something on WordPress.com.

For the record, you're never going to get a domain name and hosting / DNS registry for free. If you want a URL like arpystreksite.com or whatever, you're going to be out ten bucks for the domain registration and $50-ish for hosting. Wix and WordPress.com are really your only "free" options.

Tuesday and XCV330 like this.
  4. tracy18

tracy18 Ensign Red Shirt

I have used Strikingly.com in the past to create a free website on American history. Though the website looks good in terms of design, it lacks the plugin features that are readily available in Wordpress. I would advice you to use Wordpress, and in case you need to create pages that are design heavy, you could make them on Sunny Landing pages and import them to Wordpress.

5. Llmanagh

Llmanagh Ensign Newbie

So unteresting

6. krsplat

krsplat Lieutenant Red Shirt

It depends on the format you want to create the website or webpage.

--I think if your page is going to be text-only, you could make a webforum on Ezboard,
    or a derivative of Ezboard if it's no longer available.
    --A webpage w/ images would be require a more significant amount of attention,
    from the host server administrators, and I would recommend doing a search on
    Altavista to get current results for a webhost.