Did Commander Kruge have Permission?

Discussion in 'Star Trek Movies I-X' started by Rayleo02, Oct 11, 2018.

1. Rayleo02

Rayleo02 Lieutenant Red Shirt

Did the Klingon government have any knowlage about what Kruge was doing, destroying the USS Grissom and killing Federation citizens? I mean his actions could have started a war.

2. DonIago

DonIago Vice Admiral Admiral

It's somewhat implied in the movie that he at least implicitly doesn't have authorization. I can't remember whether the novels have anything to say on the matter, though I want to say Kruge is painted as a bit of a rogue.

Of course, in TVH the ambassador defends Kruge's actions, which would seem to be at least a belated level of authorization for what he did, though I'm not a politics expert.

Lance likes this.
  3. FormerLurker

FormerLurker Commodore Commodore

The ambassador defending Kruge's actions was pure politics, and the ambassador knew it. That's why he was so vociferous about defending them. Kruge was in Federation space, had destroyed Federation ships, including a Starfleet vessel, and killed Federation citizens, while in Federation space. Those are acts of war, and Kruge not only did them willingly, but deliberately. The ambassador painting Kirk as the villain was just about the only way he could get away with admitting Kruge had done those things, and not become the Federation's first POW.

cgervasi and Lance like this.
  4. Rayleo02

Rayleo02 Lieutenant Red Shirt

Did the Federation demand any reparations for the death of David Marcus and the kidnapping Of LT Saavik (Not to mention the distruction of the Grissom.)

5. STEPhon IT

STEPhon IT Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

So, in other words, they acted like Klingons.

6. Turd Ferguson

Turd Ferguson Rear Admiral Rear Admiral