Definitive(-ish) Enterprise Models

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by Disposable_Ensign, Apr 10, 2024.

1. Disposable_Ensign

Disposable_Ensign Commander Red Shirt

So, I'd like to make some 3D animations of the Enterprise flying around for kicks, but I want to animate not model. What're the most accurate, freely available 3D models of the TOS-era Enterprise and the Enterprise-D? I know it's easy to find tons of models but they have varying degrees of accuracy.

2. Finn

Finn Bad Batch of TrekBBS Admiral

What size of model and what's the resolution? OH and how fast the Enterprise would be flying by and how close it'd be to the camera?

Disposable_Ensign likes this.
  3. Disposable_Ensign

Disposable_Ensign Commander Red Shirt

I'm just getting started with 3D animation in Blender, and I just want a highly detailed model to play around with. Sorry if I'm not experienced enough to give more info.

4. Finn

Finn Bad Batch of TrekBBS Admiral

Good luck. Blender is a beast.

Disposable_Ensign likes this.
  5. Tallguy

Tallguy Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

6. blssdwlf

blssdwlf Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

I'd recommend starting small and low detailed to play around with first. There are lots of low poly models out there you can play with. Accuracy is highly subjective since the TOS and TNG Enterprise's had multiple filming models and variations of the models and the modeler may have based on a specific version they liked or a schematic/blueprint version. If you download something that you feel you could make more accurate to a version you like you could use the techniques from ScifiEric's tutorials that Tallguy linked to fix the model. Or you could make your own.

Good luck!

BK613 and Disposable_Ensign like this.
  7. Mage

Mage Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

110% aboard with this. Learn how to use Blender first, learn proper lighting, learn how to make animations flow smoothly. Then you can start to worry about high poly meshes.