What Do You Think About SETI@home?

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Dr. Chandra, Aug 23, 2007.

1. Dr. Chandra

Dr. Chandra Captain Captain

I'm sure it's been discussed here before, but I couldn't find it with a search.

SETI is something I've always had an interest in, and I've often thought I'd download SETI@ home, but I never did.

Has anyone else tried it? What were the consequences to computer performance (I know it'll mostly depend on the machine). I understand that you can limit SETI@ home's use of you computer in terms of time, bandwidth, processor capacity, etc.

Any thoughts?

2. Neopeius

Neopeius Admiral Admiral

I've been running it since 2000. I think the premise is silly. I don't think ET is using the 21cm band just because we would. And either way, I don't really buy that ET is out there.

That being said, there is real radio astronomy going on in the project and that's what I support them for. Also, they had the virtue of being first.

Sure, I could use my PC time to cure cancer or solve cryptological keys, but my background is in astrophysics, so that's where my clock cycles go.

And no, generally I have experienced little or no system degradation for running it.

3. PlixTixiplik

PlixTixiplik Commodore Commodore

I've been using it for about the same length of time and I've never noticed any computer system slowdown. Not even back when I started it on my Windows 95 machine in the late 1990s. You can have it run in the background all the time, or just when the screensaver is active. You can configure the internet connection options as well, although it never uses a lot of bandwidth as the packets are small - only a few hundred kb. There are lots of options for distributed computing programs - climate change, protein folding, etc. - but if SETI @ home is what interests you then I wouldn't let computer issues hold you back.

-MEC

4. JonathonWally

JonathonWally Admiral Admiral