Vulcan philosophy as a life practice

Discussion in 'General Trek Discussion' started by XCV330, May 24, 2019.

1. XCV330

XCV330 ā˜… Premium Member

Beyond the souls in jars, mind melds and waiting to mate every 7 years, I am curious about the stoicism and dedication to the principles of logic inherent in Vulcans. Obviously as an idea it's never been fleshed out entirely, and bits of it, like any philosophy put to practice, are probably prone to wildly differing interpretations, but has anyone ever tried compiling this into something that could be practiced in the world?

I have some experience with world religions. I like to joke that I have had more religions than new cars, but i am not entirely certain where to place this "Vulcanianism." It certainly isn't the middle way of Buddhism, nor is it as ascetic as some forms of Vedanta. It has no focus on a deity as, for the most part, are the Abrahamic faiths like Judaism, Christianity, Samaritanism, Islam, or Baha'i. It certainly doesn't seem to be dualistic like Zoroastrianism (and there my knowledge of Zoroastrianism runs out of gas).

The closest I can come up with is as a non religious practice like stoicism, though in its religious attributes perhaps more like Jainism, though unlike Jains, Vulcans don't seem to believe in nonviolence.

Why hasn't some group attempted to live like vulcans? Or have they? Can it be done?

ananta and Qonundrum like this.
  2. Kilana2

Kilana2 Vice Admiral Admiral

Is the Vulcan way of life desirable?
    I'm not sure. I admire the Vulcan's capability to deal with stress, pain, anger and difficult situation by applying meditation techniques. But living an ascetic live like them wouldn't be my cup of tea, especially not the Kolinahr.

Orphalesion and Qonundrum like this.
  3. XCV330

XCV330 ā˜… Premium Member

In general though they seem to live well. Their dedication to logic has not precluded their pursuit of artistic endeavor or of knowledge.

4. Doom Shepherd