The Prophets vs Q Continuum

Discussion in 'Star Trek: Deep Space Nine' started by Quantum_Q, Mar 29, 2010.

1. Quantum_Q

Quantum_Q Ensign Newbie

I am relatively new to the entire Star Trek universe, but after having finished watching both TNG and DS9, I can not help but wonder if the Prophets, as a lifeform, is anything similiar to the Q Continuum. So, my question to all you Trek experts is: What is the difference between the Q Continuum and the Prophets? That is, what other similiarity exist between them and differences, and which of these two life form is at a higher level of evolutionary advantage?

2. PorthosShadow

PorthosShadow Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

Interesting question(s) and honestly it's not one I've really thought a lot about so here is my take. Besides The Q and The Prophets through out the history of Star Trek we have been introduced to a few other non-corporeal lifeforms and I think it's safe to assume in the universe there are more of these non-corporeal lifeforms.

So given that the universe is populated by other energy based lifeforms like The Q & The Prophets I would say they are probably about as far apart from each other in the same way that most humanoid lifeforms are from each other. Also, it's not clear if The Q and The Prophets have any kind of relationship or which one is more "evolved"

3. GotNoRice

GotNoRice Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

Did we ever see any evidence that the prophets were able to project their power from beyond the wormhole? I mean other than stuff like Orbs, I'm talking about directly.

In fact, it seemed like at many times during the series the wormhole was in danger and it was talked about as if the prophets would die if something bad happened to the wormhole. Doesn't sound very Q-like.

4. Withers

Withers Captain

They were subject to chroniton radiation and could be killed by it apparently. The Q were certainly never in any danger of something like that from human beings.