RAM Memory question

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Wicca who Wonta, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. Robert Maxwell

    Robert Maxwell memelord Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Location:
    space
    That's not true. The x86 instruction set is indeed what you find on most consumer PCs. x86_64 is just one of the many extensions to it.
     
  2. Chaos Descending

    Chaos Descending Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Location:
    Grand Canyon State
    Architecture is not equal to instruction set.

    Therefore, the term, "x86_64" is just as arbitrary as "x64".

    Understand, I am not arguing about what the "industry standard correct name" is, but about the arbitrariness(???) of the nomenclature.

    For the record, I feel that "x86_64" is more like saying "Kleenex", while "x64" is more like saying, "facial tissue of no specified brand".
     
  3. Wicca who Wonta

    Wicca who Wonta Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Sweden
    Thanks for all the advice! :D

    I'll have to think this through as there seem to be lots of options for me to try. I've got 2 sticks of 1 GB rams right now so I might replace one of them with 2GB as suggested. Would two diffferent brands be compatible if I replaced only one stick?
     
  4. Deks

    Deks Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    They should be compatible so long as you retain the same type of RAM.
     
  5. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Shinning Waters
    But we just have to make sure to differntiate between ia64 (aka Itanium) and x86_64 or x64 :)
     
  6. Chaos Descending

    Chaos Descending Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Location:
    Grand Canyon State
    Yes, if you want to get super-specific, like differentiating between Pepsi, Coke, and RC Cola. But if you just mean "64 bit" in general, then saying "x64" is perfectly fine.