Photoshop Archaeology

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by Elmo Dukat, Nov 26, 2008.

1. Elmo Dukat

Elmo Dukat Guest

I like to play around in Photoshop once in a while, and I started playing with the idea of Photoshop archaeology. That is, taking an old photo --- like from Time Life --- and colorizing/sharpening/denoising/etc it, in order to more closely approximate what that person/image/building/etc looked like, live and in person.

Here is the beginning of tonight's playing:

[​IMG]

I latched on to this girl (who is a part of a bigger image), because her expression, her smile, was so fascinating to me. She is a worker at a vodka bottling company, sitting at a table with other women at the factory.

Has anyone else engaged in this kind of "archaeology"? I know there are professional sites that do this, but I was wondering more about the humble amateurs out there. ;)

2. Rÿcher

Rÿcher Fleet Captain

heh, I thought you meant, "ooh looky, an artifact!"

3. trampledamage

trampledamage Clone Admiral

It's not something I've done, but the colouring you've added to that photo is amazing - you've really brought her to life!

4. trekkiedane

trekkiedane Admiral Admiral

5. Elmo Dukat

Elmo Dukat Guest

Thanks! :)

This one didn't come out as well...I just whipped it up after I posted the first one:

[​IMG]

I rushed on the jacket and flowers, and it shows :( Still, I think it does some justice to what the original person may have looked like.

6. Amaris

Amaris Guest

I have tried, but with Paintshop I don't have much breathing room. It's possible, but painstaking. I'll see if I can dig something up.

J.

7. Elmo Dukat

Elmo Dukat Guest

Oh, btw, if anyone has one they'd like for me to give a whack at, please include here and I'll give it a shot! (and please, any other Photoshoppers, or Paintshoppers we've got here! :D )

8. trekkiedane

trekkiedane Admiral Admiral

I like what you did to the flower woman, she looks great!