OK, Mac-heads, sell me

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by seigezunt, Feb 3, 2010.

1. seigezunt

seigezunt Vice Admiral Admiral

...without condescension, snobbery, or cult-speak.

I'm a freelance writer doing an increasing amount of graphic design and am considering switching to Mac, but I feel the cost is way too prohibitive.

But I'm sick of having laptops get gunky and slow after 2 years.

So, convince me. Are Macs worth ALL that extra money.

And don't tell me they're purty.

2. Lindley

Lindley Moderator with a Soul Premium Member

I just find the interface more comfortable, personally. That's worth a few hundred amortized over several years.

3. Hermiod

Hermiod Admiral Admiral

^You've named the number one advantage - they don't get "gunky and slow". They retain their usability and value much longer than Windows computers.

4. John Picard

John Picard Vice Admiral Admiral

I am a former MS Drone who got fed up with the constant patches, plugs, and compatibility issues with my Windows machine. I use a Dell at work but my home machine (as of January 2009) is a Mac Mini. I absolutely LOVE the Mac. It is very intuitive and takes very little time to master. There are numerous functions and features I have yet to discover. I also love that all of the software for the Mac works SEAMLESSLY -- something very few Windows programs do.

5. pork3

pork3 Commander

I've had to develop cross platform compatible software for Mac, Linux and Windows at work, and in order of preference:

1. Windows
    2. Linux
    3. Mac

I have a personal dislike for the Mac UI, and we have noticed instabilities with OS X from time to time, which we haven't noticed with our Linux boxes.

In order of stability:
    1. Linux
    2. Tie between Windows7 & Mac

Cheers.

-Jamman

6. 137th Gebirg

137th Gebirg Admiral Premium Member