New to Star Trek, watch order

Discussion in 'General Trek Discussion' started by Nyuling, Oct 25, 2017.

1. Nyuling

Nyuling Ensign Newbie

Hi guys. I'm really a newbie to star trek, so I need some advice on how to get in to this massive series.

My Star Trek experience before now was the new J.J. Abrams Trek movies and I've started watching Discovery.

Before this, I watched the odd episode on TV but I always found them pretty boring. Now I was a pretty dumb kid, so when I noticed that every other series of Star Trek was on Netflix I decided to give it another go and have a look at the first episode of the original series. I was surprised to find that the story was interesting and wanted to see more...but where on earth to start?

After a bit of research of where to start watching, I found this website that shows a Chronological order of each episode.

I really enjoy watching Spin off series' in an order where cross over episodes line up. I've done this with Stargate SG1/Atlantis and Buffy/Angel so I'm looking forward to doing the same with Star Trek (I have links to watching order if anyone is interested).

I am episode 15 into Star Trek Enterprise at the moment, and thoroughly enjoying it despite being told it isn't that great compared to other series, I know that some of you may recommend not starting with this series, I feel I've committed now and it would be pointless to stop half way through and come back later.

So just a few questions for you Trek experts out there.
    1. Should I watch the animated series or just skip? I can take old special effects, but that animation looks pretty bad.
    2. Those enterprise episodes that slot in waay later in the chronology list...what's up with that and should I actually watch in that order? Looking ahead, it would mean not watching the final episode of Enterprise until I'm well into TNG which may leave me with no closure to Enterprise.