Modern careers like Starfleet Officer

Discussion in 'General Trek Discussion' started by sljolt, Dec 30, 2016.

1. sljolt

sljolt Ensign Red Shirt

Hello Trek BBS. My first thread here is going to be an unapologetically goofy one.

I fell in love with the Trek universe through The Next Generation. I discovered it around four years ago when I was a graduate student. After a short time watching it clicked that the most interesting part of Star Trek for me, and in particular TNG, is really about the philosophy. I loved the optimism the show expressed regarding humanity's future, our capacity for understanding, and the drive to solve ethical dilemmas.

At the time, I was making a lot of considerations about my career. I connected deeply with the principles laid out in the show, and in just a few months I found myself consuming the every season of it like comfort food.

I think Starfleet and the Federation in a lot of ways represent an ideal of what a career should be. The humanitarianism, the advancement of knowledge, the adventure. I've since become interested in what real world organisations best represent these principles, what jobs are most like a Starfleet officer, and all the different ways of approaching that question.

A few months ago, a quick Google led me to this amazing thread: http://ask.metafilter.com/123775/Modern-career-like-Starfleet-officer

People there made suggestions as diverse as working at McMurdo station in the Antarctic, to relief work, to forgein envoys for intelligence agencies. In case anyone is curious, I've ended up working in a very unglamorous I.T. and statistics related job at a hospital, but with a lot of hope to one day take on health related field research in developing countries.

I'd be fascinated to know the take of the people at Trek BBS on this question. Any suggestions to me would be welcome, but I'd also love to know if Trek has influenced any of you in your real life career choices.