LCARS MASTER SYSTEMS DISPLAY QUANTUM CLASS

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by Solarbaby, May 23, 2010.

1. Solarbaby

Solarbaby Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

've been studying some LCARS cross sections of various ships and had a go at one of my ship designs.

[​IMG]

I'm really pleased with the result. It took nearly a day to create this using flash CS5. Big thanks to T.E. Williams for the 3D model that I studied to draw this accurately.

I have added lots of buttons and text because I can't get the Font to install in flash for some unknown reason. But I will add them soon

I have also included a link to the flash version that is vector based so you can zoom in

quantum cross sectionanimated.swf - 0.11MB

Last edited: May 23, 2010
  2. Bill Morris

Bill Morris Commodore Commodore

I would suggest flipping the figure of the ship horizontally and making the outline a bit thicker and in a brighter color than your deck lines, maybe khaki (#CCCC66).

3. Solarbaby

Thanks for the tips. I made the alterations

[​IMG]

4. Solarbaby

I just realised that the warp core isnt touching the ejection hatch. I've adjusted its location and dimension to make it fit

[​IMG]

Last edited: May 23, 2010
  5. Bill Morris

Bill Morris Commodore Commodore

Much better. I like to make the outline really stand out. The smaller the final display size, the thicker the outliine it takes. Mine are meant to be diplayed only 700 pixels or so wide. So I generally make the outline four times as thick as the deck lines for a large ship and much brighter. That's not necessary if your final product is a large backlit printout or large scrollable image, but making the outline brighter than the deck lines still helps frame a large image in the viewer's eye. How something looks from a distance is important.

Examples for small display:
    http://lcars24.com/starfleet.html

6. JJohnson

JJohnson Fleet Captain Fleet Captain