How old is Seven emotionally/mentally in the different seasons?

Discussion in 'Star Trek: Voyager' started by Wildflowers, May 12, 2017.

1. Wildflowers

Wildflowers Lieutenant Junior Grade Red Shirt

I have read at least one person in this forum say that she is a child emotionally. What I personally think the situation is, is that she is in a state of 'arrested development'. I am not a psychiatrist or psychologist so I hope I have that term right. What I think it means is that mentally, parts of her are mature and other parts are not. Of course that probably applies to all human beings anyway doesn't it.

She was assimilated at six and then went through some time in a borg maturation chamber. I can't say that I'm an expert on borg maturation chambers but it is obvious that at least some of the changes that happen in kids and teenagers and twenty something's brains would have happened to her but at a faster rate. That period where teenagers and twentysomethings, though as late as 32 in some males, where they are somewhat volatile and immature and more readily commit crimes, she did not have when she was liberated from the collective. She had a calmness.

She also had vast knowledge and would have had to have had a huge vocabulary. These things also help with maturity.

Someone stated that she doesn't come across as a child and they don't look at her as one. And that's true that in many ways she doesn't behave like a child. She didn't seem to carry herself as a child.

In revulsion she offered herself for the safety of her new collective but I think that was more a borg left over thing. But by the second to last? episode of season 4 she was willing to die to save the crew.