Help Wanted or Want to Help?

Discussion in 'Fan Productions' started by Chindogu, Aug 16, 2007.

1. Chindogu

Chindogu Commander Red Shirt

I've never worked on any fan productions before, but I find it could be a rather interesting and fun thing to get into. So how does one start?

I'm not a director, writer or producer but I do have technical skills (post-production audio) that could really help out a project. Maybe there are other people out there who would like to contribute in some way, CGI, Music/Audio, Editing, Post Production, etc, but don't have any ideas for a project beyond their skill set. Plus I'm sure there are people out there with an idea but not the technical skills to follow through with it. Maybe we can start some kind of pinned thread for people to network and leave posts detailing what they need or what they could offer to a potential project.

What do people around here think? Has this been tried before? The Fan Fan Flick Descriptions, and Links... thread just seems to be for finished projects. Or is it just easier to post individually?

2. Tom

Tom Vice Admiral Admiral

Acually I get emails sent to OGAM I answer from people looking to volunteer. Some we keep on file, others i refer them to New Voyages. I have thought of having some sort of Volunter HR type site for fan films looking for help etc. t woudl be a hub of sorts to connect volunteers with skilss and the fan films that may need them.

3. Hoshi_Mayweather

Hoshi_Mayweather Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

Chindogu, my boyfriend has an interest in doing a fan film...

I think he wanted to do one set in Robert April's time {with him playing Robert April!} or one set in ENT's era; maybe something he could submit to a film festival...

I'll keep you {and, of course anyone else, interested} posted... ;)

I know he contacted the effects people who did the Farragut films online, but I don't know if that was in regards to his Trek film idea or something else...