Spoilers DISC*ACTORS* and future direction for the show

Discussion in 'Star Trek: Discovery' started by eltel99uk, Jan 23, 2018.

1. eltel99uk

eltel99uk Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

Newbie here who has spent hours ploughing through quite a lot of Discovery threads recently but can hardly claim full knowledge so go easy on me if this point has been raised already. It concerns Jason Isaacs (Lorca) the actor. Now, don’t get me wrong, casting him was in some ways inspired – IMHO he is, along with Patrick Stewart, the finest actor to sit in the Star Trek centre seat (or stand near it a lot as he does). However, let’s get real here – he was NEVER going to last long. Why? Because he is the most critically and commercially acclaimed (famous) actor ever to be cast in the centre seat at the START of a Star Trek iteration – in all three media of movies, TV and the theatre. Now, he’s definitely been in box office duds – I watched “A Cure for Wellness” last night and although he personally was excellent that was 2.5 hours of my life I’ll never get back – but he’s entering that period of a great actor’s career in which very successful stage, movie and TV roles were being won. Scott Bakula was perhaps equivalent in TV but certainly not equivalent OVERALL. Patrick Stewart was (outside of the theatre) a nobody when TNG started and regrets that “losing” those 7 years meant he was too old to play a lot of Shakespearian theatre roles he really wanted to play. Of course Stewart got his 2nd wind (due to TNG, which he graciously now acknowledges) in all three media but I’m willing to bet Isaacs’ contract was “one season only; if DISC hits the ball out of the park then one more, but 2 seasons MAX”. He (IMHO) will NOT want to close off other opportunities when it’s clear his star has been rising so fast.