DertyNerdy's LCARS Graphics

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by DertyNerdy, Mar 4, 2016.

1. DertyNerdy

DertyNerdy Lieutenant Red Shirt

Hello all!

Newbie here...well not really. I used to have an account but lost it years ago when this site looked a little different. Since then i've poped in occasionally to see what's new.

Anyway, i actually wanted to share something i've been working on since 2010. You know how these art projects go...you start them, leave them unfinshed for months and sometimes years, get back to them again, break away again. Well i've started digging into this one again for past couple of months.

Well I've always been fascinated by the visualness of Star Trek, the look of Starfleet...how everything looks so functional and technical but yet comfortable and inviting at the same time. I think the talents of the production designers and scenic artists are hugely unstated. I always loved the LCARS graphics in particluar, the simplicity of them, the colours and how they connect with each scene in an episode. This has always made them very pleasing to look at.

So i started taking it upon myself to recreate some of them. I've always enjoyed art and creativity so it's never been a chore really...well for the most part. I'm quite perfectionist when it comes to my artwork so i can annoy myself with constant setbacks and that when i think things don't look quite right.

Ok so enough of my rambling. Here's the first one...It's the 'Vessel Status' graphic from Star Trek: Voyager.
    I acutally posted this on the Okuda's Facebook page year ago to which they were impressed. It was taken from the book 'A Vision of the Future' by Stephen Edward Poe. I scanned the graphic and recreated it. It was a heavy copy and paste job. The colours come from the Captain's Chair pc game. Enjoy! I'll be posting more soon.

[​IMG]

2. Shawnster

Shawnster Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

What software did you use to make this?

3. DertyNerdy

MGI Photosuite