Civ games virgin: Where to start?

Discussion in 'TV & Media' started by Mr. Adventure, Aug 11, 2008.

1. Mr. Adventure

Mr. Adventure Fleet Admiral Admiral

I've never played any of the Civilization series of games (or any 4X game for that matter) and was looking for a recommendation of what would be the best to play for a total newbie to the series.

I believe Civ II is considered a real classic but that was a while ago so would III or IV be a better choice? Would Civ Revolution on the 360 be a good place to start for a beginner?

Let me know your opinions.

2. Alidar Jarok

Alidar Jarok Everything in moderation but moderation Moderator

Civ4 is probably the best game, but Civ2 is a bit more simplistic (although some things in that game are even more complicated. There's a lot of micromanagement that's been simplified over time). Basically, Civ2's problem is that the AI is terrible (which can help overcome the learning curve problem because you can make mistakes without problems). Civ Revolution's not a bad choice (I would assume, I haven't played it). It's basically Civ4 simplified.

Civ3 with the Conquests expansion is not a bad game. It's closer to Civ2 with updated graphics, although there are plenty of changes as well. Honestly, I think Civ4 is the most diverse game in the series, but they're all great.

3. firehawk12

firehawk12 Fleet Admiral Admiral

The only thing about Civ Rev that I've heard about is that the game encourages combat more than anything else because the AI will constantly rush you.

4. D Man

D Man Commodore Commodore