All right, you've actually gotten me to break down and consider downloading the two DTI E-Books

Discussion in 'Trek Literature' started by hbquikcomjamesl, Sep 16, 2016.

1. hbquikcomjamesl

hbquikcomjamesl Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

. . . without anybody having to rip the "run" and "impression" levers on the Heidelberg Windmill at the International Printing Museum from my cold, dead hands.

But out of pure morbid curiosity:

I see these e-books on the B&N site (presumably in whatever format works on a Nook), and on Amazon (presumably in whatever format works on a Kindle), but I also see them on the S&S site (with a button that just says, "ADD TO CART (DRM FREE)," and I also see it in the Google Play store. And none of them say anything about format.

Could somebody please get me up to speed on this?

2. ryan123450

ryan123450 Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

Well I'm no pro, but lets just say you are reading these on your phone. If you buy it from Amazon, you'll read it in the Kindle app. From B&N you'll read it in the Nook app. And from S&S you could probably load it into whichever app you choose, or just the equivilent of iBooks for whatever weird non-Iphone phone you have there. :p GooglePlay I obviously know nothing about.

Markonian likes this.
  3. Technobuilder

Technobuilder Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

I wasn't an early adopter or E-Books mainly due to all the confusion I personally had surrounding the multiple formats. I liked the Dead Tree habit of collecting and organizing on a shelf... then I moved and decided that it was just not ideal if I continued to collect everything and would ever have to move again.

Flash forward to now, I've basically decided that an open source format like epub is just the way to go. You can read them on anything (My Android Phone for example) and I now have a library of books always at my fingertips anytime I'm in a "bored-waiting for something to do" state.

4. BillJ

BillJ The King of Kings Premium Member

One of us!!!