What are your current computer's specs?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by Captain Ice, Jan 18, 2012.

  1. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Hey, it'll easily get you onto the internet, and that's all that matters! :D
     
  2. Melakon

    Melakon Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Location:
    Melakon's grave
    My good machine crapped out with a disk drive crash in February and I haven't been able to afford to fix or replace. Now on a piece of shit with only 2gig ram that can't be expanded.
     
  3. Robert Maxwell

    Robert Maxwell Comfortably Numb Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Location:
    where it hurts
    I've got:

    AMD Athlon II X4 630 @ 2.8GHz
    16GB DDR3 PC10600 RAM
    nVidia GeForce GTX 650 Ti
    700GB SATA hard drive

    The RAM and video card are upgrades. I also put a much better PSU in it since what it came with was too anemic to run the GeForce card.

    The system is 4 years old and in a while I'll probably a new motherboard and CPU in it and carry on. No need to toss out the rest.
     
  4. spinnerlys

    spinnerlys Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    in between
    How will my randomly generated serial number from a Hackintosh reveal anything? And even if, it will only be the specs.
    One still does need more to attack my computer directly, there are three firewalls (router, AEBS, computer) in place. Good luck finding all my slow-more porn.

    Anyway, here are my dick measurements:

    Gigabyte Z77-UD-3H (cheap one, but could not find the UP5-TH anymore and this one was available)
    i7-3770K CPU
    Asus GTX670 DirectCU GPU
    32GB of RAM Corsair Vengeance
    250 GB Samsung 840 SSD for OS and applications
    Nine 3 TB Seagate Barracuda HDDs
    Three 2 TB Seagate Barracuda HDDs
    Four 1.5 TB Seagate Barracuda HDDs
    Eight or so 1 TB WD HDDs
    Two keyboards and two mice
    Two U2412M displays
    and some other stuff
     
  5. Robert Maxwell

    Robert Maxwell Comfortably Numb Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Location:
    where it hurts
    Do you have all those drives hooked up to the same computer?!
     
  6. Kelthaz

    Kelthaz Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    More than two years since my original post and I'm still running the same computer that I got in 2008. I've upgraded the RAM and my original video card died on me so I had to get a replacement.

    Intel Dual Core E8400 @ 3GHZ
    AMD Radeon HD 6670 1GB
    1.25TB (250GB + 1TB) HDDs
    4GB DDR2 RAM
     
  7. spinnerlys

    spinnerlys Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    in between
    The SSD and four 3 TB and one 2 TB HDD are inside the case.
    Four 3 TB HDDs are in one enclosure, some other HDDs are in another enclosure, changing around.
    The rest are going into eSATA docks and a dual SATA USB dock and are used for back ups.
    Those enclosures and docks are connected to the main computer, sometimes I use my MacBook Pro though and one eSATA dock or one of the enclosures when on the move.
     
  8. Santaman

    Santaman Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    Another on of my oldies.

    IBM Netfinity 1000/3000 series

    Of course its totally non standard and being an old IBM design quite indestructible also, a recalcitrant evil piece of machinery.

    Its a Pentium III 650 Mhz
    128Mb ECC RAM can only be upgraded with IBM dimms and trust me, I tried to fit any combination of about 50 other dimms, it just won't boot, it will just beep at me in a demanding tone to remove the inferior other brand dimms.

    4.5 Gb Quantum Viking Ultra Wide SCSI drive which is connected to an Adaptec card Ultra Wide SCSI adaptor.
    Strangely the CD ROM drive is IDE

    On board S3 graphics adaptor

    This thing either runs Win2K or Xubuntu 6.06 and nothing else, it had murdered any other Linux distro I tried..
    The thing is pure evil, that is why I keep it around... ;) :devil::evil:
     
  9. { Emilia }

    { Emilia } alta moda Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Location:
    nei tuoi sogni
    Same video card (well, some OC version of it. I know, I know...)
    Same display (calibrated with a Spyder because I do some modeling and I want to see the photos in the correct colors)
    Same SSD (+ an older Vertex2)
    but I'm still running a 2600K on an ASRock Fatal1ty board (which does look a bit too "wannabe-badass" with the Ripjaw RAM in it. Fatal1ty and Ripjaw, who names this shit? Is this really all marketed to male 14-year-olds (... or 30-year-olds)? Damn nerds. :p

    Still don't feel the need to upgrade the CPU since it's never really the bottleneck and it's easy enough to overclock the K-versions.

    Did you get one for that purpose?
    I don't even bother anymore even though my CPU cooler could easily handle some overclocking. I switched back to air cooling last year because I figured that the water-cooling was fun to build but ultimately just flashy nonsense that I don't really need. :p

    I've got 2 SSDs and a Samsung HD103SJ HDD in the case but most of my stuff is stored on the NAS (Synology DS-Somethingoranother) on WD Red HDDs (which apparently are good for that purpose).

    Mechanical keyboard (Corsair Vengeance K70 (Vengeance!!! :rolleyes:)) and one of the few gaming mice that don't suck and look flashy.

    Hmm... wait...

    Shit... am I even allowed to participate in this thread?
     
  10. Sector 7

    Sector 7 Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Location:
    Rural North Carolina
    Damn, you must have a hell of a lot of "slow-more porn" to need all that HDD space! :rofl: