Star Trek Online Discussion Thread (now free to play!)

Discussion in 'Trek Gaming' started by daedalus5, Sep 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Scout101

    Scout101 Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    Ha, I finally got to the end of the line, and it gave me an error: Got Duplicate Login Success", whatever the hell that means. Back of the line, now 1400th in line.

    God, I hate this game sometimes...

    They appear to have the server capacity to do fine for the regular crowds. When they release any sort of content, we're so starved for it that more people log in, and they can't seem to plan for, or accomodate, that amount. Not saying they have to have enough capacity to serve EVERYONE at once, but they should at least be able to handle a decent amount, or their high water mark for previous logins. Just eating our money and not upgrading capacity to accompdate the people that are paying...?
     
  2. Harvey

    Harvey Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    759 now. Should be on in another ten minutes.

    (Famous last words).

    Does someone need to set up the starbase on the KDF side, too? I'm at the lowest end of the fleet totem pole, so I can't do it.
     
  3. Jim Gamma

    Jim Gamma This space left blank intentionally. Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    London
    Got disconnected while in the queue.

    EDIT: Yes, the KDF base needs setup as well.

    EDIT 2: And now I can't even connect to the login server.
     
  4. Harvey

    Harvey Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Just got disconnected while in the queue, too. Crap.

    EDIT: Doesn't look like I can even log on right now.
     
  5. Scout101

    Scout101 Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    Impressive how Cryptic handles itself. Seems like every big event, they take something that should be a GOOD, POSITIVE thing, and manage to use it to piss people off instead. Server capacity, crashes, FEs so obviously bugged that they shouldn't have come out, half of the season releases so far, etc.

    Is it that hard to do a little quality control before releasing? No one's FORCING them to release on this schedule, or after only one quick (holiday) weekend of testing. Take a couple extra days and get it halfway stable first. Then people might enjoy it instead of being pissed off by it...
     
  6. Jim Gamma

    Jim Gamma This space left blank intentionally. Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    London
    They need a bigger server farm...

    OK, I think I'm gonna give up for the evening. What're the chances of it being more stable tomorrow?

    *spies tumbleweed*

    Yeah, thought so.
     
  7. Briquettes

    Briquettes Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Me too. I'm starting to think I should give up and try again later tonight.
     
  8. Harvey

    Harvey Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Can't seem to get on. I'll try later this afternoon, but probably won't get on until tomorrow.
     
  9. Trek

    Trek Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    I'm heading online (as soon as I restart my laptop).
     
  10. Scout101

    Scout101 Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    GIve it a bit. Despite the banner that tells us that 'Normal Game Play is not affected', it's currently a combination of not connecting to the login server, or getting in, waiting in queue, and THEN getting dumped out.

    Not sure why they wouldn't just leave it down until it's actually WORKING, instead of letting people get frustrated by trying something that SAYS it should work, but doesn't. Then again, that's the kinda brilliant PR I'm talking about...
     
  11. -Brett-

    -Brett- Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2001
    Good thing, too. If I was paying to not be able to play this, I'd be kind of pissed off.
     
  12. Scout101

    Scout101 Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Location:
    Rhode Island, USA
    Laggy as hell, but appears to be up now. THink we need a fleet leader to tweak permissions, as unless it's not working right, apparently need permissions to contribute to the fleet now?
     
  13. Ruaidhri

    Ruaidhri Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Location:
    Ruaidhri...Toronto in body, Philly in spirit!
    Yeah, that's why I couldn't contribute on Tribble.
     
  14. intrinsical

    intrinsical Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Singapore
    Yup, we need the fleet leader to enable "Manage Fleet Holdings" for Adjutants so they can start assigning projects. As for the rest of us, we need permission to "Donate to Fleet Projects" as well as "Buy from provisioned Fleet stores".
     
  15. Jim Gamma

    Jim Gamma This space left blank intentionally. Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    London
    Half the problem is not that it "doesn't work", it's that thousands of people are trying to log in at the same time - essentially it's a DDOS attack caused by the very people Cryptic want to play their game.

    Doesn't excuse not having good enough servers, clearly.
     
  16. Harvey

    Harvey Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    Well, looks like it's finally working now. Ready to contribute to the KDF starbase as soon as our fleet leader sets it up...
     
  17. Jim Gamma

    Jim Gamma This space left blank intentionally. Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    London
    Not too happy that they changed the Kill 250 Tholians zonewide mission to a Get 250 Fragments... I am NOT good enough at the mining game to make it worthwhile attempting that. Oh well...
     
  18. Trek

    Trek Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Sorry guys, couldn't get on last night. Will try to get on tonight and see if I can get the fleet permission and other settings sorted.
     
  19. Bird of Prey

    Bird of Prey Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    Bird of Prey - Ontario, Canada
    Thanks Trek !! I was hoping to see the starbase last night, but I can understand the login issues. I did a get a chance to do some of the new events.. colony invasion and starbase fleet escort (I believe that's what it's called). Anyway, a 20 man stf with everybody firing everywhere.. it did cause some lag and choppines. I also went a did a couple of the ground Tholian missions. I'm also not pleased about the increase from killing 100 Tholians to 250... that's going to take a while in one sitting. Overall though, from what I saw, season 6 is pretty decent, and now I can't wait for season 7 which is supposed to bring us more content.
     
  20. Ruaidhri

    Ruaidhri Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Location:
    Ruaidhri...Toronto in body, Philly in spirit!
    They also changed the number of contraband you need to turn in to the security officers to get 2000 dilithium in the DOff missions. It now requires 5 contraband rather than 3.

    There were a pair of threads in the official STO forums with some venomous sentiment about the cost of fleet ships, even after grinding up the starbase tiers. The threads have either been moved or deleted, though. They were getting nasty. But it looks like you need 4 of the fleet ship modules, at a cost of 500 Zen each, plus the fleet credits to get a fleet ship. Unless it was already T5 in the C Store and you had already bought the original version, then it will cost you just one module.

    I may have that information slightly wrong, but that was the gist I was getting.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.