Star Trek on bluray

Discussion in 'Star Trek - Original Series' started by The Caprican, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. The Caprican

    The Caprican Lieutenant Junior Grade Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Forgive me if this is posted elsewhere. I don't post often and I could not find it.

    I just got TOS Season 1 on bluray. I realize that the little camera symbol that pops up about a dozen times per episode is designed to allow one to toggle between the new and old FX. However, I find this to be especially jarring during the episodes. Does anyone know how to get rid of it?

    Thank you!
     
  2. Harvey

    Harvey Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I've never seen that pop up on my Blu-Ray player. Is it possible that it's the player itself that's causing the branching icon to appear?
     
  3. Mr. Laser Beam

    Mr. Laser Beam Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    The visitor's bullpen
    ^ Yep. It's the player that's doing that, not the disc.
     
  4. The Caprican

    The Caprican Lieutenant Junior Grade Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Bollocks. I have tried it on two different machines. And they both do it. Any clues as yo how I get rid of it? The menu says its to identify when you can toggle back and forth between the new and old graphics. But I don't know how to make it go away.
     
  5. Mr. Laser Beam

    Mr. Laser Beam Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    The visitor's bullpen
    It most definitely is the player that is doing this. It's an alternate camera angle, as far as the player knows. Icons like that appear whenever a player detects that a scene has alternate camera angles available.

    Most (if not all) players will let you disable these notifications. Check your user manual to see how your player handles it. (Some players default to no notification.)
     
  6. Destructor

    Destructor Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC
    I have the blu-ray set and have never seen this.
     
  7. Botany Bay

    Botany Bay Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Location:
    shores of Australia
    Never happened on mine either. Hope you can get rid of it.
     
  8. BillJ

    BillJ Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Location:
    Per Ardua
    I've seen it on my Magnavox Blu-ray player. Can't remember how I turned it off.
     
  9. Mutai Sho-Rin

    Mutai Sho-Rin Crusty Old Bastard Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Location:
    Orange, CA USA
    There are control differences between watching on a television with Bluray player and on a computer. I don't think it was ever stated which was being used.
     
  10. Ziz

    Ziz Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2001
    Location:
    NY
    Either way, there's a control panel somewhere that will turn that notification off. Point is, it's not a function of the disc, it's a function of the playback controls.
     
  11. Doug Otte

    Doug Otte Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Some players allow it to be turned off, some players don't display an icon, and some players display it but don't allow you to turn it off.

    I have 2 older players (Samsung BD-UP5000 and LG BH200) and neither of them allow it to be turned off. The Samsung used to keep the icon onscreen for the entire branched chapter, but they sent out a firmware update that allows it to disappear a few seconds after the chapter starts.

    Doug
     
  12. Therin of Andor

    Therin of Andor Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    New Therin Park, Andor (via Australia)
    Aha! It must get harder and harder with companies assuming that everyone has Internet access, broadband, Wi-Fi, etc. (I hate how most user manuals are now online. Try explaining that to an elderly person who just wants a player that will let them play their favourite DVDs.)

    I had to take one Blu-Ray back and swap it for the DVD ("Zack and Miri Make a Porno") because, even with two firmware updates and several consultations with my local electrical store, the Blu-Ray refused to load on my Playstation 3. It was trying to access large files from the 'Net so I could use the interactive bonus features. I just wanted to watch the movie.
     
  13. Mr. Laser Beam

    Mr. Laser Beam Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    The visitor's bullpen
    ^ Can't you set some prefs on the PS3 so that any Blu-Rays it plays won't be *allowed* to access the 'net? My BR player has an option like that.
     
  14. BillJ

    BillJ Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2001
    Location:
    Per Ardua
    Or you could simply turn off the PS3's internet access while viewing the film.
     
  15. Therin of Andor

    Therin of Andor Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Location:
    New Therin Park, Andor (via Australia)
    Nope, not that I could find. The Blu-Ray refused to load until it had downloaded the extras. In about 30 BD purchases so far, it was the only one to refuse.
     
  16. 22 Stars

    22 Stars Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    That is so lame, must be a bad design of the disc, sorry to hear that.

    I hope the OP has found the menu to toggle this setting on his device. I remember I found a whole set of menus only accessible when NO DISC was present in the device.
     
  17. Odona Kirk

    Odona Kirk Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Location:
    Alabama
    My BD player doesn't even have an angle button on the remote, let alone the "feature" the OP asked about. Switching angles is very cumbersome, so I don't normally use the Trek BDs' branching capability.
     
  18. KarmicCurse

    KarmicCurse Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Location:
    Detroit
    I'm finally ready to buy these as they are currently a manageable $40 each at FYE. I've only ever seen the season 1 box before, and I'm surprised that the season 2 & 3 boxes are slimmer. I'm wondering if these are repackages with fewer discs to eliminate special features and make them cheaper, or were 2 & 3 in slimmer cases to begin with? Thanks.
     
  19. HGN2001

    HGN2001 Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2001
    Location:
    Sunny Central Florida
    I bought all three seasons from Amazon when they put it on sale, and got Seasons 1 and 2 in fatter boxes with slipcases on the outside, and Season 3 in a slimmer box with no slipcase.

    Harry
     
  20. KarmicCurse

    KarmicCurse Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Location:
    Detroit
    Thank you. Perhaps it was only 3 that was slimmer when I saw them. I also noticed the lack of a slip case.