Prometheus

Discussion in 'Stargate' started by Herkimer Jitty, May 7, 2011.

  1. Herkimer Jitty

    Herkimer Jitty Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Dayglow, New California Republic
    How'd they fit all those 302s in there?

    They got one of those vacuum bags from the TV commercials that pack your shirts and pants down to a wafer-thin size? How'd they get those to work for a starfighter?
     
  2. BlobVanDam

    BlobVanDam Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    I don't know what the official size of the Prometheus is (since it was never said on screen that I recall), but those 302s aren't that big, and the hangar bay is quite huge. I don't think they ever defined it well enough to cause any continuity issues like they had with Trek ships like Voyager.
     
  3. Skywalker

    Skywalker Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Mass effect technology.

    Wait, wrong franchise. Dammit!
     
  4. Herkimer Jitty

    Herkimer Jitty Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Dayglow, New California Republic
    It's bigger on the inside.
     
  5. SG-17

    SG-17 Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The 303 can only carry 8 F-302s, 4 in each hangar bay. If you are referring to the large amount seen in Lost City Part 2, there were also a bunch stationed at McMurdo.
     
  6. KJbushway

    KJbushway Commodore

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Yeah it was confusing becuase Hammond did say that he couldn't take them in becuase of the shields or something, so they would have to land at McMurdo.
    I believe the prometheus had more than just 2 bays.
     
  7. Herkimer Jitty

    Herkimer Jitty Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Dayglow, New California Republic
    It seems to me that at first the Prometheus just had the one bay to begin with (the big, obvious one at the base of the tower) and that the two pod bays were added later (what, with the pods being mostly glowy hyperdrive stuff at the time).
     
  8. AJ86

    AJ86 Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    I think the 'pod bays' were a CGI goof, and we just ended up with F-302's flying out of the hyperdrive thruster thingys.
     
  9. David cgc

    David cgc Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Location:
    California
    Not quite a goof. The Prometheus's last appearance had an updated CG model where the hyperspace pods had been changed to 302 bays with actual doors and stuff, but that threw off the scale and made the ship twice as big as it had been.