Minecraft

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by TheGodBen, Oct 23, 2010.

  1. TheGodBen

    TheGodBen Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    I don't know, but obsidian mining is going to be a bitch. :scream:
     
  2. Owain Taggart

    Owain Taggart Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    So, is anyone familiar with the Logitech G-Profiler for the keyboards? I essentially want to program one of my keys to warp me to a specific location to be used in case of close calls. I've tried doing it as a text block, but it's not working.

    Three commands need to be sent:

    t
    /warp <location>
    Enter

    Anyone know how to go about doing that? Scripting is possible, but I know nothing about scripting.
     
  3. SilentP

    SilentP Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    is in a very lonely Corner of the Circle
    Depends on how the controls are mapped.

    I'm happy to hear this. Never managed to get it to work on my laptop, and from what I hear, Notch is letting people who bought the game during Alpha stage to have it on XBLA with free updates :D
     
  4. TheGodBen

    TheGodBen Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    I doubt that. There are suggestions going around from some fans that they should get the game for free because of the poorly-worded terms of sale for the alpha version, but I don't think Notch and Mojang have said anything like that, and I think they have a strong case that Minecraft 360 is different from Minecraft PC. It's also unlikely because MS doesn't allow much free stuff on the Xbox marketplace and they charge developers for each patch after the second AFAIK. If the new Xbox version is to keep up with development of the PC version, they'll probably have to charge for each 1.X update. :(
     
  5. SilentP

    SilentP Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    is in a very lonely Corner of the Circle
  6. Robert Maxwell

    Robert Maxwell so far this is a dumb future Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Location:
    comments 2 my butt
    I believe the Alpha license said purchasers are entitled to all future versions, however Notch has indicated this means you get all updates and expansions to the game itself.

    An entirely different version of the game written for another platform probably wouldn't qualify.
     
  7. Owain Taggart

    Owain Taggart Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    Yeah, probably would require new terms.
     
  8. TheGodBen

    TheGodBen Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    Bloody game! :mad: After several months of peace, a spider spawned in my main house. It scared the crap out of me. :alienblush:

    After watching some Frasier, I was inspired, so I made this:

    [​IMG]

    I call it the Sky Needle. Now I just need to connect its Nether portal with my network and build a path out there, then I'm done with singleplayer until 1.7 is released. But that spider gave me PTSD, so I've given up for the night.
     
  9. Lindley

    Lindley Moderator with a Soul Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Location:
    Bonney Lake, WA
    Are there any plans to let you "link" two worlds together, eg, transplant one entire explored area into an "unexplored" area of another map? I think that would be fairly simple to do and pretty neat.
     
  10. Owain Taggart

    Owain Taggart Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada

    Well, technically it's already possible since some people report seeing areas that they've already built when generating a new world, but it's a bug. Not quite sure how it happens. Certainly would be interesting.

    Ben, that's an awesome tower :)
     
  11. Robert Maxwell

    Robert Maxwell so far this is a dumb future Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Location:
    comments 2 my butt
    It might seem simple but I think Notch kinda boxed himself in as far as how the world generation works. He uses a modified 3D perlin algorithm to generate the world, and dropping pieces of one world seamless into another might be difficult. I guess what you could do is separate joined areas by at least one "transition" chunk so it's not a jarring change. Once a chunk is generated it becomes part of the save file so maybe it could be controlled with some probability settings.

    Yeah, it happened back before the McRegion format was adopted. When you deleted a world, it didn't always delete the thousands of chunk files, so when you generated a new world it would pick up pieces of the old one from the leftover files. I don't think the new save format has this problem. It was also pretty obvious when this happened, especially when you looked at topo maps. You'd have all these pieces of your map that looked like they didn't go together.
     
  12. judge alba

    judge alba senior street judge Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    mega city 1
    thought i'd show off my new project. Got bored with my old world and decieded to start a new one. This ones got lots of trees which makes life easiser.

    [​IMG]

    and during the day

    [​IMG]

    the big building to the left is the main living quarters while the center is a gatehouse and the right has the small gatehouse.
    off to the side topped with cobble is my little workshop 5 blocks high to the top of the roof.
    next to that is the mine where I got most of the stone from, i'm gradaully covering it over with dirt.
    not quite finished yet still got to finish the small gatehouse and putr a fence round everything to stop me doing a header off the edge.
     
  13. Cutter John

    Cutter John Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Lookin' good Judge!
     
  14. TheGodBen

    TheGodBen Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    Looks nice, but it could do with some spider defences. Unless you play on peaceful, of course.

    After months of leaving it as an unfinished corkscrew, I finally completed the tower over my penthouse (on the server). So that's a plus.

    By the way, if anyone sees me online and tries to chat but I don't respond, don't be offended, it's just that Minecraft appears to give me some mild form of autism. :alienblush: I'm so focused on what I'm doing that I rarely notice the text on screen. On a server I played on last year, a guy was shouting my name in capital letters for about 5 minutes, but I didn't notice him until he climbed up the tower I was building and started pushing me. :lol:
     
  15. judge alba

    judge alba senior street judge Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    mega city 1
    at the moemnt i'm playing peaceful until the castle is built then i'll turn the mobs back on

    do spiders jump fences?

    I think i'm right that a one block overhang will stopp the little critters climbing over the edge.

    oh out of interest tried to make some obsidian yesterday using the pit method but for some reason when i put the water into the lava pit the lava dissapears and i'm just left with water. is this some sort of bug? or a new thing that's been added
     
  16. Cutter John

    Cutter John Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Assuming its not a bug Judge, have you tried dropping the water a block or two away from the lava and lettign it spread and flow across it?

    Hmmm, there seems to be strange things afoot on the server. There are several spots that won't allow you to place blocks, and two places on the minecart track that act as invisible walls. I've tried replacing and rebuilding that spot on the track with no change. Ended up just puttign a loop in the trackway to go around that spot. So at least now it works fine. Game bugs? Server glitches?

    Oh also, if you happen to have a minecart in your possession, could you please return it to a station chest? We seem to be running short.
     
  17. Robert Maxwell

    Robert Maxwell so far this is a dumb future Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Location:
    comments 2 my butt
    There is a new CraftBukkit available so I will update the server when I am back in the US (Wednesday afternoon.) Hopefully that will resolve any bugs. Otherwise, I'll have you point out the "weird" spots to me--never seen areas where you can't place blocks except the main spawn point (and that's intentional.)
     
  18. TheGodBen

    TheGodBen Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Ireland
    Official piston preview:

    [yt]v=uZJr86d2IUo[/yt]

    Plus, new cobblestone texture.


    Whoever put the arrival chimes for the rail stations on the server is a genius, I just spent the last day installing them on all my stations in my SSP world. :lol: I also upgraded my rail stations to allow a cart to depart in two (and theoretically more) directions without having to switch tracks, which I'm baselessly proud of.
     
  19. Owain Taggart

    Owain Taggart Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    The Stations are all Cutter's genius :) I think the chimes still need to be installed in several other locations, but yeah.
     
  20. Itisnotlogical

    Itisnotlogical Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Shufflin', shufflin', shufflin'...
    Nice, a use for slimeballs finally... good luck finding slimes though...