Looking for Avatar Help? Check here!

Discussion in 'Web Sites/Design' started by Guest, Jul 9, 2003.

  1. Alidar Jarok

    Alidar Jarok Everything in moderation but moderation Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    can anyone help me?
     
  2. STIntergalactic

    STIntergalactic Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    I'm not to bright with these Avatars...could somebody please fix mine so that either the white bars on top and bottom of my AV are gone, or make them blue to blend in with the board?

    I'd really appreciate it.
     
  3. Starscape

    Starscape Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
    Sorry, it's taken so long... my first attempts to cut it down to size didn't go too well and then I was distracted by other things.
    Anyway, better late than never, right? ;) Here you go:

    [​IMG]



    And here's ST_Intergalactic's:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. STIntergalactic

    STIntergalactic Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    Michigan
    Thank you so much. Everytime I've tried to do that I've messed it up in ways you can't even begin to understand.
     
  5. Crom!

    Crom! Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Location:
    Roshi
    Hey folks!
    It's been a while since I have decided to purchase Jasc Animation in order to extract vids and convert them into avatars and whatnots. But unfortunately, Jasc has been bought by Corel. I checked Corel's website and among the various products displayed, I can't tell which version of Paint Shop Pro contains Jasc...
    Could you please help me out?
    Thanks.
     
  6. Alidar Jarok

    Alidar Jarok Everything in moderation but moderation Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    Awesome, you rock. It'll be my av as soon as Christmas is over.
     
  7. Starscape

    Starscape Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
    ^^You're welcome. :D

    I have PSP7 so I know that one comes with Animation Shop. A quick google search for "paint shop pro animation shop" reveals that PSP9 also comes with it.

    Check out reviews of later versions online. I found a review on Amazon from a guy that had upgraded from PSP7 to XI and was complaining that Animation Shop was not included with the later release.

    I suppose you check out any demo versions avaliable for download, too.

    Good Luck.
     
  8. GHS

    GHS Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Location:
    Washington
    First off, thanks SO much for the people who contributed to this thread. I've been banging my head against a wall trying to figure this stuff out?

    I'm used to working with the old Snappy software to grab frames off of movies by linking the DVD/VHS player to the computer with the Snappy device. My question is, is a piece of hardware required to accomplish this, or are there software programs that allow you to grab the image off the disk in the DVD drive on the computer? If so, will it let you grab frames from an official release, or must it be some disk that was recorded off TV? I assume that with a VHS image, you'd stuck using some device like a Snappy unless you can copy it onto DVD
     
  9. Starscape

    Starscape Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
    Yes and yes. There's DVD-playing software for PC's, such as PowerDVD and WinDVD, that will allow you to capture an image whilst playing (or pausing) a DVD. There are even ways you can try fiddling with Windows Media Player settings to allow the use of the printscreen key, but it doesn't always work.
    I can't recall ever having a problem capturing an image from an official DVD release, I'd don't think the copy protection (usually) goes to such extremes.

    Right again. You need some kind of video input on your computer either from a video capture device or tv card/software.

    Hope that helps. :)
     
  10. estrea

    estrea Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA, USA
    Hello,

    I have read all the threads, gone to Imageshack, gone to Photobucket, downloaded EasyThumbnails. I have cropped my AV, I have uploaded it twice and I'm still getting "Improper File something" ...It's a .jpg and well under the limits/parameters. Please help. Thanks a million.
     
  11. Starscape

    Starscape Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
    Is your problem uploading it to Imageshack/Photobucket or getting it to show up in the BBS?
    If it's the latter can you post a link to the avatar, so we can take a look at the file? Just in case there's something you've missed.
     
  12. Unwrapped

    Unwrapped Continuity Spackle Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Location:
    Unicron (The Pyxis Unity)
    estrea, my understanding seems to be (although I could be wrong) that the avs are currently uploaded to the board itself, rather than from a webspace. So if you're trying to paste a URL from Photobucket, then you might be getting an upload error.
     
  13. Sector 7

    Sector 7 Vice Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Location:
    Rural North Carolina
    I've been reading some of the posts here. I have a question... Is anyone ELSE seeing my avatar besides me? I hope so.
     
  14. Alidar Jarok

    Alidar Jarok Everything in moderation but moderation Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    I know I only come in here asking for avatar help, but let's see if someone can work their magic with this one (it might be hard, I'm not sure, but any help would be appreciated):

    [​IMG]

    I'm continuing my crazy bird theme ;)
     
  15. Starscape

    Starscape Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
    Hey, it's what this thread is for. ;)

    You really do pick difficult ones, don't you. :eek:

    Well, I found a larger video of this on the 'net, I thought if I could zoom in on the main action it might cut down on the file size, but I still had to be savage with the number of frames to get get it down below the limit. How's this for a fairly bare-bones version:


    [​IMG]
     
  16. Alidar Jarok

    Alidar Jarok Everything in moderation but moderation Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2003
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    Ooh cool, awesome :D
     
  17. judge alba

    judge alba senior street judge Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    mega city 1
    I apologise if this has been said before but what is the maxium size for a avatar picutre? also would hosting a avatar on photobucket make it appear.
    i know I still have a way to go yet but i was just getting things ready (kinda like to plan ahead)
     
  18. Starscape

    Starscape Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
    The maximum avatar size is 140x140 and must be < 70 kB. TrekBBS now hosts your av for you and can upload it straight from your computer.

    To do that, go to the top of this page click on the "User CP" (User Control Panel) link, then select "Edit Avatar" from the menu on the left. That will take you to a page where you can upload your av.

    It's fairly straight forward, but if you need any more help just ask. :)
     
  19. judge alba

    judge alba senior street judge Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    mega city 1
    ok thanks
     
  20. IJD GAF

    IJD GAF Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    IJD GAF
    I was just wondering if I could get my avatar background transparent-ized. I wouldn't know where to start doing that sort of thing.