I've decommissioned the DVD player

Discussion in 'TV & Media' started by Trekker4747, Nov 19, 2009.

  1. Trekker4747

    Trekker4747 Boldly going... Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Well, with the release of "Star Trek" yesterday I've decided to decommission my standard DVD player as I bought it on Blu-Ray. My TV only has two component inputs and up until this decision they were occupied by my DVD player and my cable box.

    With the purchase of this DVD I've decided to hook my PS3 (which is my Blu-Ray Player) up to the TV with component connectors. My SD DVD player remians unconnected to my TV. :( I may reconnect it using RCA/Composite connectors at somepoint but there may-be little point.

    Not sure I'm completely switched over to Blu-Ray yet it may depend on the movie if I get it or not (for consistancy I will continue to collect TV series on DVD) on Blu-Ray but since the PS3 (and all BD players) will play DVDs and even up-converts them a bit, well, time to upgrade.

    Sigh. DVD, you served us well.
     
  2. Mr. Adventure

    Mr. Adventure Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2001
    Location:
    Mr. Adventure
    How'd you have the PS3 connected before?
     
  3. Trekker4747

    Trekker4747 Boldly going... Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Location:
    Kansas City
    The RCA/Composite cable that comes with it.
     
  4. Mr. Adventure

    Mr. Adventure Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2001
    Location:
    Mr. Adventure
    ^^ **shudder**

    ;)
     
  5. Mr. Laser Beam

    Mr. Laser Beam Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Location:
    The visitor's bullpen
    Once you got the PS3, why even keep a standard def DVD player? Since as you already pointed out, the PS3 does fine in that regard.
     
  6. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    At the Piano
    Probably heating issues. I mean, when I had my XBOX 360, I still had my DVD player because the XBOX would overheat. The thing is, even with that precautionary measure it still overheated and failed. Twice. :rolleyes:

    J.
     
  7. RoJoHen

    RoJoHen Awesome Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2000
    Location:
    QC, IL, USA
    Really? I've left my PS3 on for days on end (because I forgot about it), and it has never never overheated.

    Silly J. Allen.
     
  8. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    At the Piano
    Oh, then it's just XBOX 360 that sucks. I stand corrected. :D

    J.
     
  9. JonathonWally

    JonathonWally Admiral Admiral

    Also PS3 doesn't equal Xbox 360.
     
  10. Brikar99

    Brikar99 Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    PS3. It only does everything........ except melt itself.
     
  11. Aragorn

    Aragorn Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    But if you read some of the video game comments on this board, when the PS3 breaks, it's because it's a piece of junk. When the 360 overheats, it's an honor and a privilege for you to pay full price to buy another one and help out Microsoft. :)
     
  12. RoJoHen

    RoJoHen Awesome Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2000
    Location:
    QC, IL, USA
    Well, yes, but one shouldn't assume that just because the XBOX overheated that a PS3 would do the same.
     
  13. Starbreaker

    Starbreaker Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Location:
    Chattanooga, TN
    You really need to get an HDMI cable.
     
  14. RoJoHen

    RoJoHen Awesome Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2000
    Location:
    QC, IL, USA
    I agree with this.
     
  15. JonathonWally

    JonathonWally Admiral Admiral

    That was my point.
     
  16. RoJoHen

    RoJoHen Awesome Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2000
    Location:
    QC, IL, USA
    :shifty:

    I may have been drinking earlier tonight.
     
  17. OdoWanKenobi

    OdoWanKenobi Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Ysmault
    That's funny, I'm doing the exact same thing for the exact same movie right now. My Blu-Ray player is on its way from Amazon right now.
     
  18. Aragorn

    Aragorn Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Really? I upgraded to Blu for the Revenge of the Nerds quadrilogy! :lol:
     
  19. OdoWanKenobi

    OdoWanKenobi Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Ysmault
    I think Star Trek is probably an infinitely cooler film to upgrade for. :lol:
     
  20. RoJoHen

    RoJoHen Awesome Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2000
    Location:
    QC, IL, USA
    My first Blu-Ray purchase was "Chuck." Not exactly getting the best out of the Blu-Ray format, but I felt like I needed to support my show. :p
     

Share This Page