Getting Sick of This!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous' started by Coloratura, Jul 28, 2009.

  1. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    For the past day or so, anything I type in Google comes up with this:

    [​IMG]



    What the hell is going on?


    J.
     
  2. trampledamage

    trampledamage Clone Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Location:
    hitching a ride to Erebor
    weird!

    I've never got that.

    Have you tried maybe going to a local (well, not local to you obviously) google instead - like google.ca or google.co.uk? Even just to see if your searches go through there.
     
  3. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    ^ Yep. I also cleared my cookies, cleared cache, and restarted the browser. I keep getting it, but only from Google.

    J.
     
  4. trampledamage

    trampledamage Clone Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Location:
    hitching a ride to Erebor
    That's really strange.
     
  5. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    It is. I thought maybe at first my IRC client was causing it, but I shut it off and still get the messages. Almost every search. At least 9 out of 10.

    I'm running an AV scan right now just in case it is me, but my router is routinely scanned too so I'd have seen something get through.

    J.
     
  6. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Just to update: I ran Avira anti-vir and Lavasoft AdAware. Avira found 7 trojans and some spyware, AdAware found a few too. All of it cleaned, system restarted, started up Firefox, went to Google typed in a search question and *bam* same error message.

    So I logged into my router to see if there are unsolicited packets going in and out of my network, and it was all clear. Everything that was departing and returning was fully authorized, and I examined the packet logs myself, but nothing out of the ordinary. I don't know what is going on.

    J.
     
  7. Da'an

    Da'an Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    Shibuya UG
    Do you use a static IP address or does it change?
     
  8. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    It is a dynamic IP.
    I dropped my current IP and reconnected with a new one. It's still doing it.
    There are 3 computers on my network. None of them have spyware/adware and the packet logs are clean. It's not me.
    Out of frustration, I installed the Add Search Engines extension in Firefox and added Bing, since it's close to Google in it's comprehensive search results, and made it the default search engine.

    J.
     
  9. Da'an

    Da'an Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Location:
    Shibuya UG
    Is it a wireless network?

    Could it be possible that someone within range had accessed your connection which is why Google thinks it's you?
     
  10. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    My wireless network is secured, and I keep a monitor on all inbound/outbound connections. If someone connected to my network, my system logs would show it. Nothing connected other than the authorized systems.


    J.
     
  11. Zulu Romeo

    Zulu Romeo World Famous Starship Captain Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    This sort of thing apparently happens because Google thinks you're sending out lots of searches from your IP address. Bot attacks can resemble this sort of thing too. It also happens a lot when there's heavy Internet usage, e.g. at the time of Michael Jackson's death.

    In the last week or so I believe there have been a number of Google spiders roaming the Net and latching onto some sites, including the RavesceneBBS and another BBS which I administrate (it happened there first possibly because I was linking to it in my signature a lot and I was posting here a lot, hence multiple instances of that link) causing a sudden jump in the number of users online at any one time (our BBSes are very small in popularity, so this is noticeable).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google_search#Error_messages
     
  12. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Yeah, but there's no reason for them to be doing it to me. No other search engine has this trouble. In fact, Bing has been performing rather admirably. I might just stick with it.

    J.
     
  13. Zulu Romeo

    Zulu Romeo World Famous Starship Captain Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    That's because I think it's just a Google thing. It happens to me a lot, even on computers at work.
     
  14. Deckerd

    Deckerd Fleet Arse Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Location:
    the Frozen Wastes
    copper mines of Kadi?
     
  15. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    That would be a search quote. "Copper Mines of Kadish/Kadesh", which ended up being Kabir. That's what I was checking. But I got that Google error on every single search query, and on every one of them Google insisted that those words were being used by worms and trojans. I called baloney on it, and got frustrated.

    J.
     
  16. Jim Gamma

    Jim Gamma This space left blank intentionally. Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    London
    You could try e-mailing Google and asking for assistance...

    You said you have a dynamic IP - maybe someone who previously had the IP used it maliciously so they put a complete block on it?

    Are all the computers on your network having this problem? Or just that one?
     
  17. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    I dispatched an email to Google, but I doubt they'll get back to me anytime soon.

    Well, it's static until I renew it, which I did, and I still have the same problem.

    All of them on the network.

    J.
     
  18. RJDiogenes

    RJDiogenes Idealistic Cynic and Canon Champion Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Location:
    RJDiogenes of Boston
    This happened to me a couple of years ago. I think it just resolved itself in a couple of days.
     
  19. Coloratura

    Coloratura Snuggle Princess Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    Ah well. As long as it does I'm using Bing. I may not go back if Bing works out as well as it has been, so who knows.


    J.
     
  20. Jim Gamma

    Jim Gamma This space left blank intentionally. Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Location:
    London
    This sounds like a block on a particular ISP, then. Check this page for information on the error.