General Computer Thread

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Coloratura, May 26, 2016.

  1. Ar-Pharazon

    Ar-Pharazon Vice Admiral Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Ah, OK. They're going to have to pry Win7 from my cold dead fingers, but each version has it's quirks.

    I would look into either a bad update or another app taking control of the PrtScn process. For example, Snagit can be made to take control of it, but only if I change hotkey settings to make it so.
     
  2. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    An Aussie in Canukistan
    don't forget some laptops also use the Fn key or the like to active a particular key function.

    In the case of the OP, the PrintScreen might be a second function for the a key.
     
  3. Random_Spock

    Random_Spock Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    Random_Spock
    Maybe.

    But shit... now it's worse (on my mom's laptop). The whole screen is turning reddish and flickering. As if there's something wrong with the monitor itself. I'm not too happy and am in the middle of running a memory scan to try to rule more things out.

    That scan came up clean. Now I'm checking the drivers. So far they've come up as up to date.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2016
  4. Santaman

    Santaman Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Steelport
    Download the Linux Mint DVD, its a live DVD so it will boot to the OS, if all is working normal under Mint then it might be time to kick Windows 10 off the machine and do a re-install, if it also gives problems running Mint then there might be a hardware problem.
     
  5. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    An Aussie in Canukistan
    yeah that sort of thing is usually an indication of a hardware problem and my guess would be the LCD panel it's self.
     
  6. Random_Spock

    Random_Spock Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    Random_Spock
    Yea I was figuring it was a loose cable. Double checked to make sure it wasn't motherboard related and it seems as if the symptoms don't match up.
     
  7. Tom Hendricks

    Tom Hendricks That boy is our last hope, NO! there is another. Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Location:
    Tom Hendricks
    I'm looking into building a Hackintosh. I just kinda decided to do it, I need it for a specific purpose. So I just started to do some research and thought I would reach out for some advice. What I'm looking for is help with the Motherboard, I need a Motherboard that has at least 4 Thunderbolt ports or 2 ports and can accept PCI-e Thunderbolt Port card. I also would like at least 4 USB 3.0 and maybe 1 USB 3.1 and 1 HDMI. Any and all suggestions would be welcomed.
     
  8. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    An Aussie in Canukistan
    Not sure you'll find a board that with that many Thunderbolt ports on it (especially given the ability for TB devices to be daisy chained).

    Adding a Thunderbolt card shouldn't be too hard - it's standard PCIe so just a matter of finding a card.

    Two boards with Thunderbolt onboard
    This one has 2 TB3 ports but pretty much checks everything else on your wish list and retailed for $209. The review is from Feb this year so the could be model changes or price changes
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/10041/gigabyte-z170x-ud5-th-motherboard-review-thunderbolt-3

    A more up market board (Xeon and SLi support) but only 1 TB3 port.
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/10764/the-gigabyte-x170-extreme-ecc-motherboard-review

    I gather Hackintoshs can be a tad tempramental about the hardware so I'd also check the sites for suggested/supported hardware (matching chipset to what Apple is using would starting point).
     
  9. Guy Gardener

    Guy Gardener Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2000
    Location:
    In the lap of squalor I assure you.
    If her lap top never really leaves the house, you can bypass a broken lcd monitor by MacGyvering her lap top into a desktop.

    You have to fiddle with a screen/sleep/hybernation settings to stop the lap top from going to sleep, when you shut the lid, then plug in a cheap/stray keyboard and mouse, and then use vga/hdmi to use an actual monitor or a large flat screen tv as a new monitor.

    (You might need to also buy/find a small usb hub, if you start running out of ports.)

    Happy New year!
     
    Random_Spock likes this.
  10. Random_Spock

    Random_Spock Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Location:
    Random_Spock
    Ah. Well it's working ok that way now. But I swear, Windows 10 gave her lap top a hard time.
     
  11. Coco Pops 1967

    Coco Pops 1967 Cruising the stars and the heavens Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Having coffee with Talia Winters
    I hate those flat flex ribbon cables they use on motherboards to connect to the LCD. My old HP bless its soul ran fine since 2010 and only now has shown problems. Battery has finally said "I'm ready to die" but the screen has started flickering..... For my situation it turns out it was a flat flex causing the issue. Why can't they use proper plug and socket connectors?
     
  12. sojourner

    sojourner Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Location:
    Just around the bend.
    Because to minimize size and bulk they need to use something flat and flexible.
     
  13. Coco Pops 1967

    Coco Pops 1967 Cruising the stars and the heavens Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Having coffee with Talia Winters
    I gather that.... Just they only seem to last so long then start to fail. I'm pretty sure my screen is still in very good condition its just the flat flex causing issues. Touching it causes the screen to go wonky. If I had the skill to do so I would have soldered that sucker to the motherboard, or done something more permanent.
     
  14. Marc

    Marc Fleet Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    An Aussie in Canukistan
    Laptops have used the flat ribbon connectors for decades and there's no guarantee that a more substantive cable wouldn't develop the same the fault.
     
    Coco Pops 1967 likes this.
  15. Coco Pops 1967

    Coco Pops 1967 Cruising the stars and the heavens Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Having coffee with Talia Winters
    I guess. It just bugs me that it starts to fail only now.