Enterprise D at Earth Spacedock

Discussion in 'The Next Generation' started by Trekker82, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. Trekker82

    Trekker82 Lieutenant Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Location:
    Maine, USA
  2. MickJo1701

    MickJo1701 Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Its from 11001001, but its a not representing the space dock orbiting earth like it did in TSFS. In the episode its Starbase 74 orbiting Tarsas III.
     
  3. Angry Fanboy

    Angry Fanboy Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Angry Fanboy

    It's either Starbase 74 from 11001001, Lya Station Alpha from Ensign Ro or Starbase 133 from Remember Me. The Enterprise-D visted a spacedock of another sort for repair after The Best of Both Worlds but not the type you've pictured.

    The different uses of the original footage are listen here:

    http://en.memory-alpha.org/wiki/Spacedock_type

    Hope that helps! :)
     
  4. Trekker82

    Trekker82 Lieutenant Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Location:
    Maine, USA
    Thanks everyone, it looks like it's the shot from 11001001. The moon through me off.
     
  5. Angry Fanboy

    Angry Fanboy Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Angry Fanboy

    Well not to be picky but it can't really "look like" the shot from 11001001 any more than the identical shots from the other episodes it was shown in can it? ;)
     
  6. TommyR01D

    TommyR01D Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    Actually it can. Star Trek III had the clip in a much wider aspect ratio, and with the original Enterprise, which rules the movie out. Then, since Remember Me and Ensign Ro have not yet been released on Blu-Ray, and thus wouldn't have the picture quality or pillar-boxing that the screencap here has. Therefore it can only be 11001001.
     
  7. EmperorTiberius

    EmperorTiberius Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Isn't that station supposed to be much bigger than the Spacedock? A new class of Starbase, absolutelly massive.
     
  8. jimbotron

    jimbotron Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    It would have to be to match the scale of the E-D.
     
  9. MacLeod

    MacLeod Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Location:
    Great Britain
    I think I remember reading that the shot for 11001001 showing the Ent-D was basically the TSFS clip with the Ent-D instead of the 1701.
     
  10. jimbotron

    jimbotron Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
  11. Jarvisimo

    Jarvisimo Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Supersized Spacedock!
     
  12. MacLeod

    MacLeod Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Location:
    Great Britain
    They could do with one of those spacedock sized stations at the mouth to the Bajoran wormhole. :p
     
  13. R. Star

    R. Star Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Location:
    Shangri-La
    They used the exact same clip in Ensign Ro and Remember Me as mentioned before.
     
  14. Flake

    Flake Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Yup one of those things next to the wormhole would have deterred the dominion :) but I would imagine it would take decades to build? Would have been cool to see starfleet make a start on building it during the series and we can see it begin to take shape :)

    The interesting thing is that if they made a new station based show today then perhaps with cheap cgi and lots of bluescreen it could have been one of the mushroom type starbases !
     
  15. Jarvisimo

    Jarvisimo Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Or perhaps something like this, which Doug Drexler dreamed up.
     
  16. TommyR01D

    TommyR01D Lieutenant Commander Red Shirt

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    It's a shame they couldn't just show an enlarged door. That would have solved all the problems.

    Original:
    [​IMG]

    and then enlarged:
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Mark_Nguyen

    Mark_Nguyen Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Yes and no. It's not like there would be much room in there to maneuver a Galaxy class ship...

    Mark
     
  18. Squiggy

    Squiggy FrozenToad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    In Hiding
    Why would you need to maneuver?
     
  19. Mark_Nguyen

    Mark_Nguyen Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    To let anyone else in or out, perhaps? Perhaps there are four doors, but there would still be room on the inside to park more ships, if the big space whale would just get out of the way...

    Mark
     
  20. Timo

    Timo Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    It seems the four doors would be placed between the four arms of the center X-shaped pier. Jamming the E-D between two of the X arms shouldn't inconvenience the rest of the dock much, and the necessary maneuvering would be limited to flying straight in nose first and backing straight out stern first. Which is pretty much what we do see.

    It's difficult to understand why Starfleet insists on enclosed docks in the first place. But one where they can fit four E-D -sized ships at a time would appear only slightly less useful than one where they can pack four Galaxies and sixteen smaller ships.

    Timo Saloniemi
     

Share This Page