anyone here have a cinema degree?

Discussion in 'TV & Media' started by MadaBidyoni, Feb 3, 2013.

1. MadaBidyoni

MadaBidyoni Lieutenant Red Shirt

Hi
    someone here learned from giannetti's book "understanding movies"?
    putting his citizen kane chapter aside, do you have a film that could demonstrate all the terms from the book? (preferably "the godfather" and/or "annie hall". preferably if you could demonstrate all the terms in 1-2 sequences from the films).
    that could help a lot
    thanks

2. Foxhot

Foxhot Commodore Commodore

This is a book I'm 95 percent certain I read in college.......26 years ago. If it's the book I think it is, it had----and may still have-----a section on TOUCH OF EVIL. I majored in English and minored in RTVF. While I learned a hell of a lot from my film courses, I won't pretend to remember all of Giamatti's terms in his book. But I'll bet he mentioned mise-en-scene as well as assorted approaches to film shooting, narrative and techniques involved for specific classic films. If you want to list some of the terms your edition has, I could most likely apply them to THE GODFATHER......

......though it's worth noting other films, whether drama or escapism, can probably be adapted to Giamatti's terms.

3. MadaBidyoni

he has examples there... but from a lot of films
    i need a film, or better - a scene from a film that include all or most of the terms :)

4. Professor Zoom

Professor Zoom Vice Admiral Admiral

Are you asking people to do your homework? ;)

5. od0_ital

od0_ital Admiral Admiral

Sounds like it...

:lol:

6. Foxhot

Can the terms be listed here? Then the definitions could possibly come back to us.

7. Gaith

Gaith Vice Admiral Admiral

anyone here have a cinema degree?

No, but I am widely acknowledged to be one of the Internet's leading experts on film. What is your specific question, fellow traveler? :)

8. Foxhot