After Vanguard - what to read next?

Discussion in 'Trek Literature' started by RonG, Apr 15, 2012.

  1. RonG

    RonG Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Fluidic Space
    Hi all,

    I recently finished the amazing final VAN entry, Storming Heaven, and I find myself with a newfound TOS "itch" (thank you, Mr Mack :rolleyes:).

    I'm wondering what to (re) read next, as I'm inclined towards a Trek novel showcasing somewhat darker / "heavier" themes, something with a bit of an edge.

    Any recommendations?
     
  2. Patrick O'Brien

    Patrick O'Brien Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    Have you read Cast No Shadow by James Swallow? It is a must read set after the events in Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Contry.
    I also recently read Star Trek: That Which Divides by Dayton Ward. It is A TOS book and a good read.
     
  3. ryan123450

    ryan123450 Commodore Commodore

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Location:
    Woodward, OK
    Not sure if this is what you're looking for but how about the Rihanssu series?
     
  4. Sho

    Sho Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    Barbara Hambly's Crossroad fits that bill, being a TOS novel with a somewhat more sober tone than is usually associated with the era and with characters hailing from and shaped by very dark circumstances. I read it twice many years apart, and it's held up well and is very thought-provoking. It's dark and heavy with purpose, not for the chic of it.
     
  5. Christopher

    Christopher Writer Admiral

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Section 31: Cloak by S. D. Perry is kind of dark, I think. Prime Directive by Judith & Garfield Reeves-Stevens has some very dark/heavy aspects, given that it's a novel involving a global nuclear war on an alien world. And there's some fairly dark stuff in Dreeams of the Raven by Carmen Carter.
     
  6. MatthiasRussell

    MatthiasRussell Fleet Captain Fleet Captain

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    If you want something good to follow VAN, I would recommend "That Which Divides" as well. Simply because it is set in the same era and written by Dayton Ward.

    For something with an "edge", I also recommend "Zero Sum Game" which is a great espionage story starring Bashir and Ezri by David Mack.
     
  7. JD

    JD Admiral Admiral

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Have you read the Mirror Universe, or Myriad Universes books? Both series get pretty dark at times.
     
  8. RonG

    RonG Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Fluidic Space
    Thanks for the sugestions, everyone :)

    I'm not looking for a new novel specifically, just something to revisit. I've read most os the novels mentioned, and they're all great picks.

    This also reminds me to get That Which Divides :cool:
     
  9. RonG

    RonG Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Fluidic Space
    In addition to the suggestions you guys provided, I also thought about re-reading the New Earth miniseries, which offers another fresh look at Star Trek (movie era).

    Any opinions on it? I dont think i've ever read it completely.
     
  10. RonG

    RonG Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Fluidic Space
    No takers at all? :)

    Is New Earth *that* frowned upon?
     
  11. Thrawn

    Thrawn Rear Admiral Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    It's pretty bad. Or at least incredibly repetitive and not exactly the "fresh look" you're expecting. Books 2, 4, and 5 are all essentially identical, and 3 goes on foreeeeeever. 1 and 6 I thought were pretty good, but I generally like Diane Carey, and opinions on her vary a lot.
     
  12. Yevetha

    Yevetha Commodore

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Have you read Ex Machina?
     
  13. RonG

    RonG Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Fluidic Space
    Ex Machina is another favorite.

    the first CLB novel AFAIK, and IMO his best (at least right up there with the first DTI novel - I haven't read the new one)
     
  14. RonG

    RonG Captain Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Fluidic Space
    Another novel with an interesting "spin" on Early Trek is The Children of Kings.

    While at first I'd thought of this as "just" a TOS novel with other names, the more I (re)read it, I saw a darker and to me a more realistic side of Trek.

    I know it's not strictly in Continuity (and IIRC that was a deliberate effort by the author), but I would have liked to revisit this version of Pike's Enterprise.