RSS iconTwitter iconFacebook icon

The Trek BBS title image

The Trek BBS statistics

Threads: 139,675
Posts: 5,429,716
Members: 24,823
Currently online: 498
Newest member: voyagerman49


Welcome! The Trek BBS is the number one place to chat about Star Trek with like-minded fans. Please login to see our full range of forums as well as the ability to send and receive private messages, track your favourite topics and of course join in the discussions.

If you are a new visitor, join us for free. If you are an existing member please login below. Note: for members who joined under our old messageboard system, please login with your display name not your login name.


Go Back   The Trek BBS > Entertainment & Interests > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Battlestar Galactica & Caprica

Battlestar Galactica & Caprica This forum was created by man. It rebelled. It evolved. And it has a plan.

 
 
Thread Tools
Old March 22 2009, 01:55 AM   #1
hxclespaulplayer
Commander
 
Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

From BSGwiki:

The depiction of Earth includes a geographically accurate landmark: the Balize lobe of the Mississippi river delta, a feature formed between the 16th and 20th Centuries of the real-world Earth. However, no further conclusions should be inferred as the series creators deliberately avoid confirming whether Battlestar Galactica occurs in the real-world Earth's past, present, or future.
Well it would seem that BSG occured 150,000 years ago, either this was an oversight, or we might have gotten a different ending...
hxclespaulplayer is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 01:59 AM   #2
backstept
Rear Admiral
 
backstept's Avatar
 
Location: Syracuse
View backstept's Twitter Profile Send a message via AIM to backstept Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to backstept
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

wow . . . what an insanely small and trivial thing to nitpick
__________________
| Hi I'm Gauis Blatar lol
| backstept.blogspot.com | about.me
backstept is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 02:01 AM   #3
DeafPoet
Rear Admiral
 
DeafPoet's Avatar
 
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

Yeah. I think Earth in "Crossroads" was the same as Earth in "Daybreak" and any further dissection of it is bordering on weird.
DeafPoet is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 02:04 AM   #4
Mutenroshi
Vice Admiral
 
Mutenroshi's Avatar
 
Location: Mutenroshi
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Mutenroshi
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

I think, and I have that on good authority, that the CGI model of Earth was based on the same template...
I might be wrong though.
__________________
Let There Be Rock!

Jack Beauregard: "You shine like the door of a whorehouse!"
Nobody: "I like folks to see me."
Mutenroshi is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 02:05 AM   #5
Kelso
Vice Admiral
 
Kelso's Avatar
 
Location: On the destruct button until the last minute!
View Kelso's Twitter Profile
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

They were foreshadowing the 150,000 Years Later bit.


Yeah!
Kelso is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 02:16 AM   #6
chrisspringob
Commodore
 
Location: North Ryde, NSW
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

Kelso wrote: View Post
They were foreshadowing the 150,000 Years Later bit.


Yeah!
It was a 150,000 year-long zoom out and zoom in from the RTF to Earth. It just seemed shorter to the viewer because of time dilation. But there's an easter egg on the DVD that allows you to correct for time dilation, and experience the zoom in all its 150,000 year long glory.
chrisspringob is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 02:20 AM   #7
Magic_Al
Captain
 
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

A continuous camera move across the galaxy (note that it WASN'T a jump) would have to be time-lapse photography covering tens of thousands of years of time. It was 150,000 years ago at the beginning of the shot and by the time the camera got to Earth it was the present.

What do I win?

EDIT: Frak, chrisspringob beat me to it

Last edited by Magic_Al; March 22 2009 at 02:51 AM.
Magic_Al is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 02:48 AM   #8
SG-17
Commodore
 
SG-17's Avatar
 
Location: Pennsylvania
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

Could just be an oversight on the part of the CGI department.
__________________
Programs that I currently enjoy:
The Legend of Korra | Falling Skies | Hell on Wheels | Archer | The Borgias | Arrow

SG-17 is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 03:05 AM   #9
WeAreTheBorg
Vice Admiral
 
WeAreTheBorg's Avatar
 
Location: Sector 001
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

SG-17 wrote: View Post
Could just be an oversight on the part of the CGI department.
And you couldnt blame them either.
__________________
"The object of opening the mind, as of opening the mouth, is to shut it again on something solid." - GK Chesterton
WeAreTheBorg is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 03:07 AM   #10
Marc
Fleet Admiral
 
Location: An Aussie in Canukistan
Send a message via ICQ to Marc
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

SG-17 wrote: View Post
Could just be an oversight on the part of the CGI department.

Think it mentioned in the RDM invterview for the final (linked in the relevant thread) that the Earth from Crossroads wasn't supposed to have clearly identifiable land masses to indiciate whether it was our Earth.

The ideas now the series has finished that the Earth of Crossroads was the Earth of the 13th Tribe but not our Earth in anyway, shape or form. Where the Colonials have settled (our earth) it to them Earth Mk II
__________________
Gentlemen you can't fight in here - this is the war room.

Pres. Merkin P. Muffly
Marc is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 03:08 AM   #11
WeAreTheBorg
Vice Admiral
 
WeAreTheBorg's Avatar
 
Location: Sector 001
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

Marc wrote: View Post
SG-17 wrote: View Post
Could just be an oversight on the part of the CGI department.

Think it mentioned in the RDM invterview for the final (linked in the relevant thread) that the Earth from Crossroads wasn't supposed to have clearly identifiable land masses to indiciate whether it was our Earth.

The ideas now the series has finished that the Earth of Crossroads was the Earth of the 13th Tribe but not our Earth in anyway, shape or form. Where the Colonials have settled (our earth) it to them Earth Mk II
Just the opposite, the Earth from Crossroads was designed to be instantly recognizable. The Earth from Revelations is what you are thinking of. Crossroads Earth is Daybreak Earth.
__________________
"The object of opening the mind, as of opening the mouth, is to shut it again on something solid." - GK Chesterton
WeAreTheBorg is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 03:09 AM   #12
SG-17
Commodore
 
SG-17's Avatar
 
Location: Pennsylvania
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

I thought that because we see no landmasses on the Cylon Earth, but we do on the Crossroads and Daybreak Earth that we can assume that the Crossroad's Earth is our Earth.
__________________
Programs that I currently enjoy:
The Legend of Korra | Falling Skies | Hell on Wheels | Archer | The Borgias | Arrow

SG-17 is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 03:18 AM   #13
Phily B
Fleet Captain
 
Phily B's Avatar
 
Location: United Kingdom
View Phily B's Twitter Profile
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

Yeah, they used a picture of current day instead of the picture of Earth from 150,000 years ago.

How dare they!
Phily B is offline  
Old March 22 2009, 06:11 AM   #14
hxclespaulplayer
Commander
 
Re: Why did "Crossroads" show us a different era earth?

I know it's splitting hairs and I don't really care either way, but since the info has been on bsgwiki for a while, i thought there may have been some time difference for an alternate ending - that only an eagle-eyed viewer (or bsgwikier) would notice the difference. Though, I bet the viewers living along the Mississippi delta are pissed!
hxclespaulplayer is offline  
 

Bookmarks

Tags
earth

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
FireFox 2+ or Internet Explorer 7+ highly recommended.